Skip to content

Bento 68: Takeaway Train bento

August 30, 2010

bento68a

.

It’s been a lovely Bank Holiday weekend (no reason public holiday) here in the UK. This is the last of the public holiday until Christmas, and it always upsets me slightly as it’s going to be a long way off until I get my next break. Bleahh. It was nice though as we had some friends over from London visiting, and a three day weekend is most definately better than the the usual Saturday/Sunday that we spend in London.

Hardly the Shinkansen, they left on the Leeds-London speedy train which only takes 2 hours earlier this evening. I cannot stand the food offered up in the dining car – a soggy egg sandwich for £3.50?!? So I sent them off with a takeaway train bento…consisting of some of the food we made over the weekend and dredging up the bottom of my fridge. I am a fan of packed travel lunch, and try to bring bentos with me on my plane journeys.

.

bento68c

.

Both bentos were similar, two onigiris stuffed with curried potato and turkey soboro (separately of course!), a curry puff, 1/2 peach, two mini meatballs, silicon cup of edamame, heart-shaped marshmallows and a cherry tomato that I added afterwards. I totally ran out of veggies and had to dredge the edamame from the bottom of my fridge – whilst the curried potato fillings were leftover stuffings for the curry puffs. I left the onigiris wrapped in Saran wrap as it would be easier for them to eat by holding on to the plastic. Easy, simple and nutritious – this would be miles better than the regular overpriced and eew food served on National Rail. Hope they’ve enjoyed this 🙂

.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2010 9:10 pm

    How cute! The musubi sounds delish, and looks cute with their Saran-wrapped faces. What a sweet sendoff that I bet they truly appreciated!

    • August 31, 2010 11:00 am

      Thanks Sheri :). Musubis are the new sandwiches!

  2. dreymer permalink
    August 31, 2010 9:20 am

    Nice! How was the curry puff? Didja bake it coz it looks quite pale (or supposed to be like that?!)

    • August 31, 2010 11:01 am

      yeah – although I think I under-baked it….will try higher temp next time..

  3. September 1, 2010 2:31 am

    Nice bentos for traveling! I must admit that food are usually lousy in trains and flights so sometimes I do bring my own sammies!

    Curry puffs are one of my fav!

    • September 1, 2010 7:51 am

      Thanks – yeah, I get really annoyed when food on trains & airplanes are lousy. Just because we’re up in the air doesn’t mean that we should eat rubbish food – wish they gave everyone a travel bento instead!

  4. September 1, 2010 9:54 pm

    Love your traveling bentos!!! Looks delicious!

    • September 2, 2010 8:38 am

      heehee…thanks Susan – It’s nice to bring food along in your travels I feel – better than arguing on where to eat/not to eat!

Leave a Reply

