Skip to content

Bento 69: Leftovers reinvented

August 31, 2010

Before I started bento-ing, I regularly pile a giant sandwich box with my leftovers from dinner. Even though tasty, it would be so ugly that I wouldn’t make eye contact with it during lunch, wolfing it down without paying it any heed. And today was one of them days.

After a long weekend, extreme laziness was the key today. I didn’t even make dinner; the bacon had to make my lunch AND dinner today. I get to experience the novelty of him making me an egg sandwich – I completely forgot that he used to make me lunch :). If you’re with me on twitter, you would see the long list of tweets of me from my bathtub moaning on how I can’t be bothered to make my lunch. Sigh. It’s probably because I like to try keeping to the colourful bento rule, and I knew the only edible green thing in the kitchen was some frozen peas and frozen edamame and I didn’t feel like either. Well, a girl’s gotta eat….so I sauntered downstairs, and with my ever-dependable 550ml lock-and-lock, emptied bits and bobs from the fridge & freezer into it.

.

bento69

.

In tomorrow’s bento, there is refridgerator rice, refridgerator curried potato, refridgerator leftover KFC, frozen bento stash peppers and some homegrown cherry tomatoes and a lone basil leaf. There is no theme, just a big mash up of things that are left in my fridge and bento-stash peppers. Personally I’m quite impressed at myself. Not too bad for a throw together. No kawaii details at all (could’ve done with adding smiley faces on the tomatoes, really) – I was glad that I could even move my bum off the sofa.

Better than any cafeteria or sandwich shop bought lunch I reckon! Less than 5 mins, this beats all my previous speed record – yay me! I must do something more creative (other than ratatouile & pasta sauce) with my bounty of homegrown cherry tomatoes…..they are ripening a treat now :).

.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2010 8:50 pm

    That’s a pretty good lunch you have there! Much more impressive than some of my sorry looking leftovers-bento creations lately. Good work!

    • August 31, 2010 9:48 pm

      Aww, thanks Jessica. I need to get more veg in, not getting enough greenery in my bentos for my liking.

  2. August 31, 2010 9:37 pm

    Those are the prettiest cherry tomatoes ever! Can’t take my eyes off ’em. Really can’t argue with a 5 minute bento, now can you? Excellent!

    • August 31, 2010 9:47 pm

      Thanks Sheri! They do look pretty don’t they? I love homegrown tomatoes – just perks everything up!

  3. September 1, 2010 2:29 am

    That don’t look like a leftover bento to me! It looked so fresh and yummy!
    How I wish I can have some homegrown cherry tomatoes coz my boy just love them to bits!

    • September 1, 2010 7:52 am

      Your boy have good taste! Tomatoes grow pretty well here, but unfortunately its coming to the close of summer; which means no more freshly picked veg from the garden 😦

  4. September 1, 2010 6:23 am

    Love to put leftover in the bento. So convenience and good for not wasting the foods too. Red and bright tomatoes, looks so fresh!

    • September 1, 2010 7:48 am

      Aww thanks Lia! Yes the tomatoes are most definately fresh – freshly picked from my tomato plant that had taken to growing like crazy!

Leave a Reply

