Skip to content

Bento 70: Homegrown Giant Caprese

September 1, 2010

bento70b

The in-laws live about a 15 min walk away. Yup. It’s a good thing that they are not the type to come spy on the kids….you know what I’m talking about :). It’s actually quite pleasant, we call on them quite regularly especially when we’re away to water the plants or just pop in to check the house is still ok. They even came over to feed the cat occasionally when he was still alive, and even took over our hamster one Christmas. In return, the only time they show up without prior notice was to either post us some goodies through the post or drop a plant off in our garden. Fabulous – especially since the FIL is an excellent gardener ๐Ÿ™‚ . Last year he grew chillies, and I was presented with about 4lb of chillies – they realised it was too spicy for them.

.

This year, he decided to return to his usual crop – a taste of Italy in his greenhouse; parsley, basil and tomatoes. He dropped off a cherry tomato tree in our garden a few months ago, and we’ve been slowly eating off it as it ripen – I say we, but it’s really only enough to make the occasional appearance in my bentos :). However, he still has a jungle of bright red tomatoes and bushes of basil in his greenhouse….so off I went visiting the outlaws today with my berry basket!! Wished I took a picture of his yummy greenhouse; unfortunately it was dusk by the time I got to his garden…boo hoo. Like Debra, I only wished mozzarella grew on trees as well!!

.

bento70

.

So today’s bento was a massive serving of insalata caprese – with a cinnamon raisin bagel half and ham strips to eat with the bagel. Ah. Somedays it’s just best to keep it simple. This only took me 5 minutes to assemble – I tried cutting out cute shapes from the mozzarella ball, but it didn’t work out too well. I’m going to miss this fresh seasonal eating when summer’s over – somehow brussels sprouts as seasonal eating is just not quite the same. I’ll be making a couple more trips over in the next few weeks; they’ve grown bored of their tomatoes and basil and I am making sure that I take full advantage of it :).

.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2010 9:25 pm

    Love those floral mozzas! So fresh and sweet! Think I’ll have this for dinner tonight…

    • September 2, 2010 8:35 am

      Thanks Sheri! I purchased a different brand this time around and the flowers didn’t come out as well as I hoped; the cheaper brand is more ‘durable’ for shape-cutting!

  2. September 1, 2010 10:11 pm

    A couple more days and I will follow you on the caprese path. My tomatoes are almost ripe. Love how you cut the mozza into flower shapes.

    • September 2, 2010 8:38 am

      I can’t wait!

      We should have caprese themed bentos…for me, the summer’s not going to get any better, so might as well!

  3. September 2, 2010 4:50 am

    I am so jealous. The cute bunnies in my yard ate my tomatoes. They are less cute now.

    • September 2, 2010 9:57 am

      Bad bunnies! There’s nothing worse than having your veg and fruit eaten away – I experienced that when the birds started pecking on my cherries!

  4. September 2, 2010 3:13 pm

    Looks really refreshing!

Leave a Reply

