Skip to content

Bento 71: Scary Bagelwich

September 2, 2010

.

bento71c

.

My good friend dreymer had decided to take the plunge and start making bentos for her lunch :). So I thought I would start her off with some examples of well presented, balanced and easy to make bento lunches. When I first started (which is not that long ago!) I used to spend hours making things and decorating, just to end up with not very much to show for. I almost threw in the towel, if not for the support received from the friendly twitter bento community :). It’s probably the best hobby ever, the support I received from the community have just been so amazing.

So today, I am taking inspiration from Susan ! Susan makes the most amazing sandwiches come to life – the owl-wich and the amazing tiger-wich comes to mind! Her sandwiches inspire me with their simplicity and cuteness – she has the knack of turning the most ordinary meals into super adorable creations.

Unfortunately, I had run out of olives, and in my rush to make this a speed bento, replaced the eyeballs with precut nori. Uh. Yeah. It just made the whole bagelwich look slightly crazy and scary.

.

bento71a

.

Tomorrow’s bento contain a cinnamon & raisin bagel with cheese and ham. A giant cherry tomato took the place of the nose (I really wished I had some pretzels to turn this into rudolph!), whilst cheese circles and nori details were the eyes. The cheese circles are stuck on with a pat of peanut butter. Nori naturally clings on to anything slightly moist, so didn’t need any extra glue. I love the sweet-salty combination of cinnamon-raisin bagel with cream cheese/ham filling. Yup. Weird like that. And obviously, more cherry tomatoes from the fil’s garden. I complete this easy and simple bento with a 1/2 nectarine and a clementine.

I’ll let you in a secret – I love fruits in my bentos. But seeing that my new job provides us with free fruits, I’ve stopped packing as many fruits in my lunches. However, I miss the wonderful splash of colour that fruits provides in my bentos….so today I kidnapped a small clementine from work, peeled it and packed it in my bento, and will be bringing this back to work tomorrow. How silly is that?

.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2010 7:56 pm

    Wow, free fruit? Excellent! Might as well re-appropriate them! This funny face did in fact bring to mind Susan’s expressive sandwiches! I like the excited look on yours πŸ™‚

    • September 2, 2010 8:56 pm

      You’re too sweet – I think mine jsut looks slightly …. cross-eyed and creepy. Hahahaha:)

      Maybe we should run a theme of facial expression bentos…that would be so fun

  2. September 2, 2010 8:22 pm

    ha ha ha ha ha! This is awesome. Kidnapping fruit is probably not a punishable crime. πŸ™‚ I was inspired by Susan today, too! She’s great.

    • September 2, 2010 8:54 pm

      Yup, since I’m bringing the fruit back into work tomorrow..hehehe :).

  3. September 2, 2010 11:50 pm

    He is so adorable and looks very tasty!

  4. September 3, 2010 3:18 am

    He looks so cute for me, Mils!
    Kidnapping a fruit? Hehehehe

  5. September 3, 2010 9:29 am

    The face expression is so funny! This bento will not scare away me … You’ve done it very well with your own style πŸ™‚

    • September 3, 2010 10:58 am

      Heheh thanks Lia – making expressions is very fun…I will be trying other expressions πŸ™‚

  6. September 3, 2010 3:07 pm

    He looked cute to me!!!
    Love his BIG RED nose!

    Is your company growing fruits??? That’s why you get free fruits???
    So nice!!!! If I were you, I’ll kidnap some too! hehehehe

    • September 3, 2010 6:31 pm

      Haha thanks :).

      We dont grow, but we contract it out to a local market holder to supply us with a box of fruit weekly. The growing is all done by the fil!

  7. dreymer permalink
    September 4, 2010 4:25 pm

    Wow thank you πŸ™‚ I’m very inspired now.

Leave a Reply

