Skip to content

Bento 72: Purple mash flowers

September 6, 2010

bento72d

.

I am not a great enabler of potatoes. I bake it, make curries with it, but always think that potatoes are much more versatile than that….just don’t really know how. So over the weekend, when bacon asked for potatoes for dinner, I decided to make mash with a twist. I added a purple sweet potato into the mix, and the result is a very pretty pastel purple mash. These purple sweet potatoes are so flavoursome as well, the ratio of 1 small sweet potato to three normal potatoes still produced the distinctive sweet potato flavour – which I totally love. How awesome is that? I’ve tried swede and potato mash, but sweet potato is just the bees knees. And of course, the pretty colour of the leftovers just HAD to be transformed into one of my bentos :).

I shaped the leftover mash into flowers with a large plastic flower cookie cutter; and then had to decide what to do with them. I panfried one with lightly (you can tell the difference as it’s darker), and just shaped the other one directly into the box. I’m not sure which one will I like best (I don’t usually mind room temperature mash) – so am going to try out both. I’ve seen recipes of adding in flour, seasonings, egg and onions to make mash potato cake; but am going through another I can’t be bothered phase, so I just left it as it is. I topped them with thin ham rounds, before adding nori features on it. I padded it out with brocolli (OMG, I’ve not had brocolli in my bentos for AGES!) and a lone mini cherry tomato (part of the homegrown stash).

I am still marvelling at my nori punch, which I succumbed after 8 months of regular bento-making. It is now making an appearance in nearly every bento I make….I just can’t help myself. Such an easy and convenient way to cute-fy (yeah, I know that’s not a word) lunches! I regretted not adding smiley tomatoes on my Leftover reinvented bento, but made sure that I don’t miss out this time!

.

bento72a

.

On the second layer, I have more of the glorious cherry tomatoes, some sliced roast chicken for a protein kick , and a teensy square of a mini battenberg cake slice. Cherry tomatoes will probably feature quite heavily for another week or two I predict…I do love homegrown produce; the flavours are just out of this world. I added two flower picks on the chicken slices to tie the theme together.

.

bento72c

.

All packed in another new double – tier box! This is one of my favourite; I love the pretty colours! I am partial to double-layered bento boxes as it fits perfectly in my handbag without feeling bulky – and of course I love the ceremony of unwrapping it at lunchtime and having people watching over my shoulders to see what am I unveiling for lunch. However, as you can probably tell by now, I do not discriminate against boxes; from tiffins to lock-and-locks ๐Ÿ™‚ .

.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2010 9:26 pm

    How pretty! Looks really creamy in that lavender color. Will definitely have to try the multicolor potato mix. Something lovely to anticipate for lunch โ˜บ

    • September 6, 2010 9:49 pm

      It is isn’t it! I just HAD to include it in a bento! It’ll be cool to have a regular sweet potato mix as well…Will be testing out the recipe for mash cakes soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. September 6, 2010 11:58 pm

    Ooo, how pretty with the purple sweet potato/reg potato mash! And nori punches are the best. So easy to add cute details.

    • September 7, 2010 8:16 am

      I love the color too! Always partial to natural food colourings. And on nori punches – think it might not be too long before I buy more punches – uh oh!

  3. September 7, 2010 1:12 am

    The purple mash potato looks really good, especially the one lightly pan-fried! I shall try this out! Never pan-fried a mash potato before and that sounds delicious. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • September 7, 2010 8:15 am

      Thanks! I’ve not tried it as well, will report back on the taste. Think I need to coat it with some flour before frying so it doesn’t fall apart so easily!

  4. September 7, 2010 4:58 am

    Love the idea and love the purple! Bento become so pretty and cheerful ๐Ÿ™‚

    • September 7, 2010 8:18 am

      Thanks Lia :). With bentos we are more inclined to think about beautiful food as well as tastiness, and that really is a good thing

  5. September 7, 2010 1:01 pm

    Nice work on the purple mash, Mils – Looks very cheerful and happy :o)

  6. September 7, 2010 1:23 pm

    Lovely purple flowers, I love purple color. ๐Ÿ™‚ The smiling cherry tomato is cute. Nice and delicious bento.

    • September 7, 2010 5:51 pm

      Thanks Emily – naturally purple food is not easy to source, and this turns the potatoes more exciting than the regular good ole white ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

