Skip to content

Free Onigiri!!!

September 7, 2010

.

Hello there wonderful bento lovers!

Thanks to a fabulous highlight of my humble ochazuke bento by the ‘Big Onigiri’ aka maki; traffic to my blog had shot through the roof today. I am so chuffed to be highlighted on JustBento, seeing that I stalked it for about 6 months before I was brave enough to start packing my own bentos. If there is an easy-bento-starter-guide, JustBento would be it; an all-encompassing website on bentos and everything to do with it. And one of the first things that I was introduced (actually reintroduced; my college roomate was Japanese) on JustBento to was the onigiri.

.

Onigiris/musubis (rice balls) are a staple in bento boxes, charming in size and practical in form. I love them because you can turn them into bears and stars (and even chicken!) , and stuff them with all sorts of yummy fillings; from a simple ume(pickled Japanese plum) to one of my all-time favourite; sweet-salty bacon furikake from Just Bento. I’ve stuffed them with curried potatoes and meat soboro, and other times had left them plain or just mixed in with some purchased furikake. They are absolutely delicious eaten at room temperature; and easily portable.

.

keychain

.

So to celebrate my personal bento making milestone; I am offering up a handmade (by me!) onigiri cell phone/zipper charm! Not sold anywhere else, this teeny little guardian onigiri will always be with you irregardless of whether it is lunch time or not. This giveaway is open to onigiri lovers worldwide. All you have to do is tell me in the comments (please make sure you leave your email too!) what is your favourite onigiri filling. That’s it. Simple. Maybe you like it with some takuan; or some carne asada. Or just wrapped in nori. Get creative – I would love to add to my onigiri-filling library. Just make sure you do it before September 14th 11.30pm GMT (that’s Greenwich Mean Time) – and one random comment will be selected on September 15th to be the proud owner of this cute lil onigiri charm :). I won’t make you follow me on Twitter for an extra entry, but would be happy to tweet with you :).

Thank you again maki for featuring me!

.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. Bill Countie permalink
    September 7, 2010 6:25 pm

    Hi,
    My favorite Onigiri filling is either dried Apricot or curried Chicken. The Apricot is for when I don’t have to refrigerate my bento, and the curried Chicken is…I love curried Chicken! I can’t get Ume around here and it is a bit sour for me, but I am getting used to it.

    Best wishes,
    Bill

  2. September 7, 2010 6:32 pm

    Aw, mils — you’re crafty too! So so cool! And sweet of you to offer up your handiwork 😀 Congrats on your feature; I love the ochazuke idea for bento too, esp as the weather gets cooler. My fave onigiri filling is salted salmon. Makes my mouth water just thinking of it ☺

  3. September 7, 2010 7:27 pm

    My favorite so far was chopped up steak that had been cooked in hoisin. I also love the bangle, I have several on my phone and love them!

  4. karaimame permalink
    September 7, 2010 9:27 pm

    Hey Mils!!!! Congrats on your feature!! The idea is so nice, ochazuke is so handy as a bento!!
    And… you are crafty too!! *hugs* Nice to find out fellow “hand” people ^_^
    My favorite onigiri filling is umeboshi! Hah! so boring isn´t it?

  5. September 7, 2010 9:45 pm

    Yay! Well done Mils!
    My favourite onigiri filling isn’t really a filling as such, it’s just ume and shiso furikake rolled around the edges. Nori on the outside.

    Occasionally I stray into the realms of stuffing onigiris, but not very often. They have a nasty habit of not staying together!! I think I might need to squeeze a bit harder. Oh and I’m lazy too, my favourite way to make onigiri is in a jar 🙂

  6. September 7, 2010 9:54 pm

    Oh and I just realised that you are in the UK as well, hooray! Another UK bento-person, that makes me really happy 🙂

  7. Diana Ault permalink
    September 7, 2010 10:07 pm

    I really enjoy beef soboro in my no nori onigiri. My husband loves tuna and mayonnaise in a completely nori wrapped onigiri.

  8. Karyn permalink
    September 7, 2010 10:45 pm

    I’m so excited to find your blog through JustBento! I’m still getting up the gumption and energy to do bentos everyday, but seeing other people’s ideas and bentos makes my day. So far my favorite onigiri are yaki onigiri, sprinkled with toasted sesame nori sheets crumbled up and then…this is going to sound gross…dipped in a little maple syrup. I know, I know – but I love sweet and salty together, especially with rice as a back-drop. Yum!

  9. Robin permalink
    September 7, 2010 10:50 pm

    Gosh, I am so dull. I usually just add an ume to mine, not even any seaweed. However, your post reminds me of when I learned to make sushi rolls. Whenever I was in a food store I’d wander around thinking about whether this or that would be yummy in a roll and I tried a lot of different stuff. Noodles instead of rice, pickled anything, leftover dinner, different dips, salsa. Hmm, I should renew that sense of adventure with my onigori.

  10. September 8, 2010 1:47 am

    My favorite furikake stay the most simple once that I could buy in the koran shop in Zürich: sesam, nori and wasabi small dry drop… Find another one but not so tasty..

    Nice blog, I discover it due to Maki… I will follow…

  11. Bridgette permalink
    September 8, 2010 1:47 am

    I discovered my favorite while cooking with my sister. She’s kinda scared of the really foreign stuff, so for a filling we opened up a can of tuna and mixed in some soy sauce. I never did get her to put nori on hers, but I love nori so much I couldn’t resist wrapping mine in it. ;D

    It’s not really my favorite because of the taste itself, but because the taste reminds me of home. :3

  12. September 8, 2010 4:04 am

    Aww he’s so cute! My favorite filling so far has been strawberries and melon. Sounds weird( I did a post about it) but it is delish! Thanks for the chance to win something handmade by you, very cool!

    stephd(at)sewfierce(dot)com

  13. landwench permalink
    September 8, 2010 4:52 am

    my favorite filling is tuna with relish and mayo! Nice looking blog, consider me a new follower! ^-^

  14. Sarah permalink
    September 8, 2010 9:55 am

    My favourite onigiri filling is tuna soboro – I like it because it’s both salty and sweet and anything with ginger in is a big plus. I would love to try a red bean paste filling, but I haven’t gotten around to making it yet (I can’t buy red bean paste where I live so I have to make it myself!). Sarah x

    • Sarah permalink
      September 8, 2010 9:56 am

      P.S. My email is crochetninja(at)hotmail(dot)co(dot)uk

  15. Zahrah permalink
    September 8, 2010 10:13 am

    My favourite onigiri filling is sweet soy and ginger. It warms me up on cold days and keeps colds away! I haven’t tried umeboshi because I just can’t find it here (Perth, Australia). But I love this site though. I love making bentos for my boyfriend and myself for uni and we are huge manga fans so ideas used to come mainly from them. Now they come from here too!!

    • Mel permalink
      September 21, 2010 4:14 pm

      I am from the same place, and I have found umeboshi at the asian grocer in Karawara (near Curtin) if that helps. It is worth trying, it’s traditional but still my favourite filling!

  16. September 8, 2010 6:50 pm

    That is so adorable!! Hmm.. I’d have to say my favorite onigiri filling is pineapple-ginger tuna soboro. Once I made a batch of these and froze them and the label fell off, so it was such a delightful surprise when I got to the center and found they were those! ^_^

  17. September 8, 2010 8:14 pm

    Everyone! What amazing ideas! I look forward to testing them out – thank you all so much for sharing your favourite onigiris here 🙂

  18. dreymer permalink
    September 9, 2010 9:29 am

    My favourite: Malay style SERUNDING! (Meat floss)

  19. Rose permalink
    September 9, 2010 2:59 pm

    My favorite filling is trout (caught by me!) with avocado. I can the trout so ti ends up a lot like tuna in a can. It is so good!

  20. September 10, 2010 6:09 am

    My favorite filling is scrambled eggs and some chicken with onion all chopped up and mixed with a little ketchup then put into the onigiri. Its like having a portable omuraisu ❤

    Another one I like is I pan fry the tofu in sesame seed oil or extra virgin coconut oil mixed with some soy sauce and then mix that with green onion and yellow bell pepper. Soo good.

    Sometimes for extra cuteness I like to replace the normal green nori with part of a pink soy wrapper :] love it!

    (ex. using it on sushi) http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3612/3547579484_36710b9bb1.jpg

    My friend Ashley likes to mix Sun Chips (Harvest Cheddar kind), tuna fish, pickle relish and mayo or just chopped up turkey and pickle relish in hers. lol

  21. September 10, 2010 4:35 pm

    I forgot one more! Durian is pretty good chopped up and put inside it. I would recommend cutting it up outside though, the smell is horrendous and lingers like crazy

  22. Athena permalink
    September 11, 2010 11:16 pm

    I love almost any filling, but I really LOVE tuna+mayo filling. The salty tuna just tastes great with the rice. Although, now that I’ve been using my crockpot, I must try my BBQ pulled pork in an onigiri. Perhaps I will have discovered my NEW favorite filling. =D

Leave a Reply

