Skip to content

Bento 73: Three little bears

September 8, 2010

bento73e

.

The hubs was in charge of dinner tonight; and whenever he’s in charge of dinner, there is always leftovers! Despite making enough for a family of 4, he hates eating leftovers, and I am always left clearing them up. I don’t mind; as it goes straight into my bento for the next day! Leftover bentos are the best; I hardly cook my bentos from scratch and try to use whatever I have on hand in next day’s lunch.

It was simple pasta night (mom convinced me that I should be happy that he can even fry an egg) ;just penne with a simple bolognaise. After packing them in one layer, I laid some spinach leaves on top before placing smoked cheese teddy bear cutouts on top. On the second layer, I have some wilted sesame spinach, ham strips and more of the homegrown cherry tomatoes. Mm Mm good.

.

bento73d

.

This bento box is microwave-friendly, so I’ll probably pop it in the microwave tomorrow. Not all bento containers are microwaveable, so please check the label before dumping the packaging. Bear in mind that most bento accesories like picks and plastic cups are not microwavable, so remove them before you nuke it. I am lucky enough to have access to a microwave at work, but food flasks (like Ms. Bento from Zojirushi) are fabulous for a hot lunch coming up to cooler climes. I keep a stash of individually packaged miso paste at work, perfect for a warming snack in work by just adding hot water.

.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2010 9:23 pm

    It came to my mind that story “Three bears and goldilocks”.. the only difference is that Goldilocks might not be blond 😉
    Lovely bento!! (and double lovely hubby! )

    • September 8, 2010 9:37 pm

      Oh yes!! I remember now! For some reason I came up with three bears ; but had a feeling I was missing something…Now I know what it is! Thanks for reminding me ^-^

  2. September 8, 2010 10:16 pm

    Loving all the green in this fresh one! I like how a few faces makes all the difference in a “happy” meal too :o)

    • September 9, 2010 7:27 am

      I totally agree! It is the little things that make it all come together – it might take a few mins for me to arrange the details with my clumsy fingers, but it is all worth it 🙂

  3. September 9, 2010 10:33 am

    That ham is PINK O.O Is it dyed or something? Also: Cute! ^_^
    I try and do the leftover thing as much as I can too. I make a bento pretty much every day now, and it saves a lot of time.
    If I don’t use leftovers I often still use the same ingredients.

    • September 9, 2010 11:38 am

      Thanks Samantha :). It’s not dyed, just regular wafer-thin ham. I just noticed that it’s come out a pretty shade of pink – promise I didn’t do any adjustments to it!

  4. September 9, 2010 2:08 pm

    Yummy! The bears are adorable but really like what you did with the ham strips..looks like a bow or something. Awesome box!

    • September 13, 2010 8:03 pm

      Thanks Steph! The ham strips are really easy to do (think they look like pom-poms!) – I’ll do a quick tutorial soon!

  5. Athena permalink
    September 11, 2010 11:18 pm

    I love it when the bentos are simple, but are made into really awesome looking bentos with just a simple cute touch here and there. The little bears look great on the green like that! Great job turning leftovers into bento goodness!

  6. January 3, 2015 6:07 am

    This “free sharing” of inooimatrfn seems too good to be true. Like communism.

Leave a Reply

