Skip to content

Bento 74: Hen redux & chicken mochiko (was karaage)

September 9, 2010

.

bento74a

.

Notice anything familiar? Hee hee, I think everytime I have some fried chicken in my bento I’ll do the hen onigiris. They just go SO well in the whole bento scheme! I should probably title this bento the ‘inspired’ bento – as you can see pieces of other bento makers in my bento! Obviously pikko , but today’s bento also highlight Debra!

.

bento74d

.

The first layer is mostly filled with two round onigiri hens (did you notice the cutie little pick that turned the bit of brocolli into a smiley tree??!) , some quick-cooked brocolli and more of the homegrown cherry tomatoes. The cheeks and crest is cut from polony, nori eyes and sweet corn beaks. The polony and sweet corn is held on by a piece of uncooked rice stick – I’ve run out of spaghetti. Unfortunately the beaks were crushed down when I shut it; really need to stop doing that. Then of course, the next layer, which contains pieces of my karaage-mochiko hybrid chicken! There are also more brocolli there and sliced takuan for flavour and colour.

.

bento74c
.

I had been wanting to try out Debra’s karaage chicken – I very seldom deep fry my food as I’m a hot oil wuss. I had also been meaning to try mochiko chicken; the Hawaiian Japanese hybrid fried chicken. I marinated the chicken using Debra’s recipe of ginger, garlic, mirin and soy sauce – but actually went half and half on the corn flour with some mochiko flour as well. And I can vouch for Debra’s method – the chicken turned out wonderfully crisp and yummy with the double-frying method that she recommended! It might partly be due to the mochiko flour, but seriously, this is the crispiest chicken I’ve ever had! And it’s not even dark meat – all I had access to was skinless chicken breast. It would’ve been superbly amazing with skin-on chicken thighs….oh so delicious. I was pleased that even though I used chicken breast, the meat wasn’t dried out at all.

.

bento74f

.

All packed in my very first proper bento box – I purchased this from Amazon UK believe it or not! It remains one of my favourite as it’s microwavable and a perfect size. It got really bad reviews from other customers who were expecting a massive sandwich box – what?? One reviewer even mentioned that she couldn’t fit cherry tomatoes in because it was soo teensy – so I’ve stuffed mine with 5 here; and two rice balls and brocolli. It does upsets me that some people diss things that they just don’t understand. Pfft…

.

PS: Thanks to Sheri, I just realised that I DID make Mochiko Chicken anyway! For some reason I thought karaage = 100% cornflour and mochiko = 100% mochiko. So. Freaking. Dumb. Did not even realised it until I googled mochiko chicken for a recipe. Noob.

.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2010 9:30 pm

    I love mochiko chicken, and you’ve reminded me to put it on the menu soon. I love your onigiri hens too! Those corn beaks are so funny. Bet you can’t wait for lunch now :o) !

  2. September 9, 2010 9:44 pm

    Yum! Yep I’m sheri…time to put mochiko chicken back on the menu. You’ve inspired me. “Cluck-cluck”

    • September 9, 2010 9:45 pm

      meant’ to type I’m WITH sheri. LOL

      • September 9, 2010 9:59 pm

        haha lols that’s funny :D. Fried chicken – so ridiculliously simple yet yummys…

  3. September 10, 2010 6:15 am

    Mjami, that looks really delicious πŸ˜‰
    And your chicks are cute, too. ^-^

    • September 10, 2010 1:31 pm

      Thanks so much lily πŸ™‚ The chicken is like the most amazing fried chicken EVER…..delicious

  4. September 10, 2010 11:37 pm

    Looks delish and love the new box, so cute!

  5. September 11, 2010 1:58 am

    Delicious bento…I haven’t make any onigiri hens before,may be I should put in my list too. πŸ™‚ Love the cute tree food pick.

    • September 13, 2010 8:04 pm

      I know right, the tree pick is just too cute! Thanks for your kind comments emily πŸ™‚

  6. September 14, 2010 3:46 am

    haha so cute, i attempted these chickens on my blog also. I’m a new follower!

    • September 14, 2010 8:29 am

      Hi Kelly, welcome! The hens are suprisingly simple to make, as long as you can shape the rice into a sphere, you’re sorted!

Trackbacks

  1. Bento 83: Mochiko chicken & mini apple « not another brown bag lunch…

Leave a Reply

