Skip to content

Bento 75: Kimchi Jijgae

September 13, 2010

bento75c

.

I swear my bentos are getting weirder and weirder. I am packing anything and everything in my daily lunches, and I’m glad to say when I unpack it at work I’ve got mostly positive reactions from colleagues; no cringing or screwing up noses. Hm. So tomorrow I’m going to have to go somewhere else to eat my lunch if I want to continue being liked….Because tomorrow is Kimchi Jijgae day!

.

Kimchi Jijgae (kimchi = fermented korean vegetables; jijgae = korean word for stew) is one of my all time favourite dishes (I have more than a few!) . It’s not something that I have very often, and since moving to the UK, it’s been even less frequent seeing that there is only a handful of korean restaurants in the whole of the UK. However, ever since I started bento-ing, I had increasingly became more comfortable in stepping out of my cooking comfort zone, and kimchi jijgae is one of the dishes that I’ve added to my regular repetoire. A quick stock of konbu and dried anchovies as a base, I add ripe kimchi and gouchujang as a starter. Shirataki noodles is added for texture, and sometimes meat goes into my jijgae as well. Bring to a rapid boil (or until the meat is cooked) , add tofu, top with chives and voila! Yum yum good….

.

bento75a

.

I like mine with a side of rice, brocolli and tomatoes for color and black sesame seed for contrast. Oh, and a octodog as well because I am naughty :). It covers all the neccesary food groups, and since it’s free fruit at work, I’ll have some grapes and plums for a mini-dessert. Sitting by myself during lunch is well worth it :). With this being a leftover makeover, it only took 5 minutes to assemble and goes in my speed bento folder!

.

bento75d

.

I used my round tiffin for this and a microwavable watertight container for the kimchi jijgae. Notice how I cut my tofu into a gigantic flower for added prettiness :P. I would recommend serving this in food flask like the Aladdin Bento Box or Zojirushi’s Ms. Bento to keep your kimchi jijgae warm and toasty for lunch. I’ll heat mine up in the microwave at work, and because it’s watertight (I regularly transport homemade soup in it) it means less leakage worries for me!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2010 8:26 pm

    My fave!! Craving some kimchi jigae now…

    • September 13, 2010 9:01 pm

      Your kimchi jijgae always looks sooooo yummy….and super spicy! I like!

  2. September 13, 2010 8:37 pm

    Oh…we are having gray skies, which goes well with kimchi jigae. I want.

    • September 13, 2010 9:00 pm

      It’s gray skies about 70% of the time here; suprising that it’s soooo hard to find kimchi jijgae here really!

  3. September 13, 2010 11:45 pm

    This looks so pretty! I do like Kimchee but have only tried it a few times. It’s so fun to discover new foods! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • September 14, 2010 8:32 am

      Kimchi is delicious, but turned in a stew it takes on a completely different dimension! Just becareful of the stink – I’m going to eat this in a secluded corner at work…not good if you’re trying to impress, but super delicious!

  4. September 14, 2010 8:19 am

    Kimchi Jigae is my favorite too! Nice to pack this Mils ๐Ÿ™‚

    • September 14, 2010 8:28 am

      Thanks Lia! So hard to find Korean restaurants here, but that’s not keeping me away from my jijgae!

Leave a Reply

