Skip to content

Bento 76: Piggy Bagelwich

September 14, 2010

After my first bagelwich which turned out to be slightly scary, I thought it was time to try another one, seeing that bagels were still on special offer at the supermarket (5 for Β£0.60, bargain!). This time around I had the presence of mind to actually get some olives in so it wouldn’t look as creepy as my last one which I had to use nori for.

I love a good bagel lunch – bagel fills me up more than a sandwich, takes longer to chew and is just plain tastier than bread. I just need to get more creative with my fillings – since I don’t often pack sandwiches for lunch, my staples are just what bacon keeps in the fridge for his lunches; cheese, cheese and more cheese. Ugh.

.

bento76a

.

This piggy bagelwich is stuffed chock full of ham, caramelised onion marmalade and cheese. I cut the nose out of ham, and the eyes are made of cheese and half olives.I stuck cherry tomato halves on with dried spaghetti as the ears – and voila! I padded the box out with tangerines and more of the in-season cherry tomatoes (I did warn you!) .

As the ham was so thin, I laid the cut out nose on some cheese. I think it made it look really weird – should probably just leave it off. Hm. I think it looks pretty cute irregardless, and I’m trying to come up with new bagelwich creatures! If you have any ideas, please let me know in the comments! There is so much that can be done with the good ole bagel, and I do have 4 more bagels left! And by the way, you can see more fantastic sandwich creatures from the fabulous Susan! I just realised that she did a pig sandwich not too long ago – I must’ve been subliminaly channeling Susan!

.

bento76b

.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2010 9:18 pm

    Haha; cute! The nose does look good like that. Look forward to the next bagel-creature…

  2. Athena permalink
    September 14, 2010 10:05 pm

    Very cute! I think the bottom tangerine bits look inadvertently like feet. XD And I think the nose looks better with the cheese underneath than it would have without it. It brings it into harmony with the eyes (which look better with the olives, I’ll admit). I’m wondering what kind of creature one could make using half of a bagel like a semi-circle…the only thing I can really come up with is a curled up cat (if you could make something for it’s head at one end, it’s feet(maybe picks?) and a tail at the other end).

    • September 15, 2010 10:34 am

      Thanks Athena! Yes, now that you’ve mentioned it, does look like inverted feet! Cool thought on the cat – I’m going to have to spend some time sketching….

  3. September 14, 2010 11:26 pm

    Cute pig bagel! Love the details on the bagel … believe me is adorable to have this not creepy at all, so don’t worry Mils πŸ™‚ You have so much fun with bagel that I will love to see the next idea from you.

    • September 15, 2010 10:35 am

      Thanks Lia – sometimes it’s so hard to think of different things with one shape, but it definately gets my creative juice going!

  4. September 15, 2010 3:21 pm

    Bagels are so filling and yummy – never thought to but one in a bento! Great idea!

    Bagel sandwich creature possibilities: bear, cat, dog, monkey, elephant (don’t know how hard the trunk would be), duck, tiger, lion, rabbit, owl. Owls are my favorite animal, so I’m inclined to think that an owl bagel sandwich would be amazing!

Leave a Reply

