Skip to content

Bento 77: Afro Bagelwich

September 15, 2010

.

bento77a

.

I’m going bagelwiches crazy! This is what happens when there’s only two of you in the household and only one of you really loves bagel. I don’t mind though; bagels are yummy and keep me satiated until dinner (with a fruity afternoon snack). So it is bagelwich lunch again tomorrow!

I’ve been cooking up bagelwiches ideas all day today. My notepad at work is filled with random sketches of smiley faced creatures.Ā  I love it! It’s probably the donut shape – or the fact that it’s NOT a normal bun/roll. So much potential, so little bagels! Then I started thinking egg…how it’s been a long time since I had eggs in my bento. The eggs that I’ve been purchasing lately are just way too large for my egg moulds. I’ve had to think about some other way to consume my boiled egg….So let me present to you, tomorrow’s lunch is the groovy Afro Bagelwich!

.

bento77c
.

This 3/4 cinnamon raisin bagel is stuffed with ham and dijon mustard. The face is made out of a boiled egg with nori details and ketchup dab of rosy cheeks. I squeezed the egg in whilst it is still hot, that way it will be able to mould itself to the hole rather than keeping to egg-shaped. Mini romaine leaves provide padding, with a little cherry tomato holding it together on the bottom right. I added a whole sweet orange pepper and another tomato on the top left corner for colour and texture. On the top right corner in this protein-rich bento, I squeezed in some chopped roast chicken, which I can easily eat with the sad giraffe fork.

.

Now, for tomorrow’s bagelwich……

.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2010 9:40 pm

    You’re having too much fun with your bagels girl! Like the egg “mold”. Enjoy!

    • September 16, 2010 9:51 am

      Yeah, definately having too much fun with the bagels – my poor bagels, getting all dressed up into weird stuff šŸ™‚

  2. September 15, 2010 11:14 pm

    LOL, awesome! When I saw the post title pop up my interest piqued..she is adorable!

    • September 16, 2010 9:55 am

      Thanks Steph – it makes me smile as well šŸ™‚

  3. Athena permalink
    September 15, 2010 11:25 pm

    That’s awesome! I love the little detail of the bow in her “hair.” =D I definitely support the idea of using just a part of the bagel as a prop, since semi-circles are always a great way to break up the lines of regular food. =D

    • September 16, 2010 10:05 am

      Thanks so much Athena! I love round foods too – if only doughnuts are not so calorific!

  4. September 16, 2010 7:23 am

    Brilliant!
    Very creative, love the little bow. =)

    • September 16, 2010 10:05 am

      Aww…how nice of you to say that! I wasn’t sure if the little bow would be visible in pictures, am glad it is šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

