Skip to content

Free Onigiri winner

September 15, 2010

And the winner of the free onigiri giveaway is……

*****drumroll******

*****drumroll******

Karyn! Congratulations Karyn, your idea of yaki onigiri dipped in maple syrup in intruiging – sounds lovely for breakfast instead of pancakes.

Thank you everyone for participating in this giveaway, you have given me much food for thought on what I stuff my onigiri with. I always think onigiri fillings are very much underrated as it is hidden away from general view and it doesn’t add to the general look of the bento – but it definately adds to the general taste of it! I will be testing out the suggested fillings shortly. This just proves how creative the bento making community is!

Don’t fret if you did not win; I’ll be running another onigiri giveaway shortly, so please do check back regularly!

The Onigiri thanks you!

.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2010 11:02 pm

    Mils, this Afro Bagelwich totally cracked me up! Fun idea to incorporate the egg into the bagel sandwich. 🙂

    • September 16, 2010 9:57 am

      Thanks so much :). I think I was just trying to incorporate a boiled egg into anything really…hehe

  2. September 17, 2010 8:51 pm

    Just found your blog and I love it!! I have a question for you…when you make rice balls do you have to make sushi rice so it’s really easy to shape? Or does any rice work. Thanks! 🙂

    • September 19, 2010 9:16 pm

      Hi Michelle – Welcome & hope you like it!

      Sushi rice (also called calrose) would hold its shape best for onigiri shaping. Other types of rice is just not sticky enough. Try using some salted water to wet your fingers before shaping them.

Leave a Reply

