Skip to content

Bento 78: Chickie Bagelwich

September 16, 2010

.

bento78b

.

You know you love it!! It’s bagelwich time again, although this might be the last of the series as I’m exhausting my current bag of bagels. It had sure been fun; one roll, so many looks!

Today’s bagelwich was supposed to be a chicken, but I ran out of space to put it’s crest above the head.Putting it on the bagel itself is just….not-quite-there. This bagelwich is filled with dijon mustard & ham, with the last of the delicious caramelised onion. I stuffed a full sweet mini pepper through the hole as it’s ‘beak’ :). Eyes are cut from cheese and half-olives. I tucked in mini romaine leaves all around it, and more of the sliced roast chicken (4 thighs for Ā£1; bargain!) and homegrown cherry tomatoes. And there you go; a chickie bagelwich served up!

.

bento78c

.

I am still looking for bagelwiches ideas, it has been a really cool week. I even started a bagelwich category ;). I didn’t start the week out planning to have a weekful of bagels, but it had been seriously fun I just couldn’t help myself! Maybe I could do other types of breads; like a sub roll or focaccia…wonder what I’ll create from those instead?

.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2010 7:13 pm

    Except for the round face, the nose kinda reminds me of Beaker from Sesame Street… Great chicken bagel to finish!

    • September 17, 2010 7:36 am

      Eep! That’s a good idea! Maybe with a sub roll…hmm. Or a squashed bagel…maybe the bagel can be moulded to a longish shape…

      Okay – back to work..

  2. September 16, 2010 11:55 pm

    I am loving all of your bagel sandwiches!!! Cute chickie!

    • September 17, 2010 7:38 am

      Thanks Susan! You inspire me with all your sandwich creatures!

  3. September 17, 2010 6:57 am

    I’ve very much enjoyed your bagelwich series. Not as much as I would have enjoyed it in my own lunchbox of course, but still!

    • September 17, 2010 7:40 am

      Hi Lisa – Thanks so much for your kind comment šŸ™‚ . Bagelwiches are so simple to make and replicate – would love to see what you come up with in your lunch šŸ™‚

  4. September 17, 2010 10:05 am

    This is cute! Love the mini pepper beak! It make the little chick looks kind of cheeky! šŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. Lunchtime « Bora’s Notebook

Leave a Reply

