Skip to content

Bento 79: Tomatoes & meatballs

September 19, 2010

.

bento79d

.

…..but no pasta! I’m on a come-down from my bagelwich week – it seems so hard to think about what to make for lunch that’s not bagel-shaped and a hole in between. And I’ve been very naughty indeed – meant to replenish my bento stash but spent the weekend making some relish instead, and the bacon is dominating the kitchen with his bread-making at the moment. So my bento for tomorrow’s lunch is kept simple and quick – and when I want simple and quick, I reach for my trusty 550ml lock-and-lock!

.

bento79a

.

It’s like playing hide-and-seek with the freezer as I dredge up whatever that’s left in my bento stash. Tomorrow’s lunch is pre-frozen rice of brown & white mix, yummy jalapeno tinged mini meatballs (stuck with the pick that reminds me of the flintstones šŸ˜‰ ), a weird tomato-meatball salad side and some leftovers honeydew we had for dinner. I did say really simple and quick, right?

I initially forgot the smiley faces on the tomatoes on the rice, and my pictures came out looking pretty sad and empty…had to bring it back to the kitchen to put on some pre-cut nori and snapped more pictures. Ignore the bits of white blemishing the tomatoes – these have been homegrown in the greenhouse, so it is most definately not pesticide! I did wash them though, don’t get me wrong – but that’s what you get with homegrown, blemishes and all, but utterly deliciously fresh!

This is most definately the last week of the tomatoes – very sad for it to end, but the early frost that we’ve been experiencing is killing them prematurely on the vine. I had (well, the husband) to rescue more than a few vines from the outside to sit on the kitchen windowsill – the wind, rain and general miserableness is not helping them grow into attractive tomatoes. It’s still better than store-bought, and I am going to sorely miss them when they are all gone.

.

bento79c

.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2010 8:43 pm

    I agree about home grown tomatoes, there’s nothing nicer. I’m not experiencing frost yet, though I suspect it’s not far away.

    • September 19, 2010 9:21 pm

      Hi Susan – It’s been so horrible where I am! Can’t believe my poor tomatoes are being blown away …gah!! At least it fruited this year though!

  2. September 19, 2010 10:15 pm

    Sunday always calls for quick and easy; don’t really feel the bento calling right now… I always believe a tomato brightens things up nicely šŸ™‚

    • September 19, 2010 10:31 pm

      Ugh..totally agree! I always have grand plans of making great long winded bentos, but end up copping out with a quick and easy . And yes, tomatoes seem to make everything better! šŸ™‚

  3. September 19, 2010 11:18 pm

    Those bone picks are my favorite. I need to find something to stick them in for my lunch tomorrow!

    • September 20, 2010 7:57 am

      Me too! I need to find new things to poke them in as well – getting slightly tired of meatballs.

  4. September 20, 2010 12:02 am

    Cute smiles on those tomatoes! Ugh… I’m feeling bento-lazy today. Meatballs and rice sound very good.

    • September 20, 2010 7:55 am

      Thanks Debra! Sunday evenings are the worst times for bentos…because it means getting back to a new work week šŸ˜¦

  5. September 20, 2010 9:07 am

    Bone picks on the meatballs look like a tiny drumstick, cool! And happy tomatoes put smiles too on my face šŸ™‚

    • September 20, 2010 11:28 am

      Aw, thanks Lia :).Can’t wait to see your creations for the week!

  6. Dreymer permalink
    September 20, 2010 2:00 pm

    Is this for me to copy?

    • September 20, 2010 9:12 pm

      hehe…yes, most of my bentos seem to be very simple now, so they are all easy to copy! I can’t wait to see you get back on the bento train šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

