Skip to content

Bento 80: The Final Caprese

September 20, 2010

bento80a

.

So sad today. It’s my final batch of homegrown caprese, and the deterioration in the quality of basil is pretty apparent – we’ve been having some very very cold nights here, and it’s near killed the poor plants. The tomatoes are looking more bruised than earlier in the season, and we’ve barely had sunshine in the past week. The plants are also looking slightly demolished by me, so it’s probably a good time for it to rest in peace :). I have a small tub of tomatoes left, that’s it; nothing else.

.

However, Debra’s tomato plants are only starting to blush; and I must say I’m pretty jealous of her! Oh well, I’ve had a good run! So here is lunch for tomorrow; the Caprese Dance-off !

.

bento80b

.

Tomorrow’s bento contain the final caprese of the season, some fresh meatballs that I made today to replenish the bento stash and slices of a large orange. For some reason, I was unable to replicate my flower-shaped mozzarella that I made previously – it must be the brand of the mozzarella. The one that I could cut into flowers feels slightly plasticky and is labeled as pizza mozzarella. I’ve been busy this evening doing other stuff in the kitchen, and unfortunately this is the most I could do in my distracted frame of mind.

However, watch out for Debra‘s caprese – I bet it’s fresh, yummy and delicious like all her bentos!

UPDATE: Debra’s caprese is up! Have a peep at her gorgeous pitta caprese!

.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2010 9:08 pm

    Awww, that IS sad, the last call of summer. I guess you’d better enjoy this one immensely then? Sweet!

    • September 21, 2010 9:22 am

      I most definately will! I guess its time to look forward to Fall’s bounty now…I see golds, oranges and browns.

      I am going to really miss eating off the garden 😦

  2. September 21, 2010 5:22 am

    Love, love , LOVE caprese. Love your flowers (I recently did mozzarella stars.. great minds, I tell ya!) You should try this: http://popartichoke.blogspot.com/2010/08/mango-radicchio-caprese-salad.html It’s my new fav.

    • September 21, 2010 9:20 am

      Welcome to the caprese club!

      It’s quite sad that this summer had not been summer-like enough for the tomatoes to thrive…like your caprese though!

Leave a Reply

