Skip to content

Bento 81: Bunnie in a curry

September 21, 2010

.

bento81b

.

I’ve been addicted to Japanese-styled curry recently. The creaminess of the roux is so flavourful; I know it doesn’t taste like a real curry at all, but the flavours are just so wonderful. I’ve not ventured to making my own roux yet, copping out to using the chocolate bar-like readymade squares. These are available in most asian grocery stores, just add them in when you’re nearly finished cooking your meat.

After making chicken katsu a couple of times, I thought it was time I try something new. It’s been a while since I made stewed beef, as I tend to treat stewed beef as a rescue recipe in the middle of a miserable winter. The weather today is suprisingly mild, but I had it in my mind to eat some beef curry, and have them I shall!

.

bento81c

.

Today’s bento is bunnies galore!! No actual bunnies were hurt in the production of this bento; as I do not eat rabbit πŸ™‚ .I half-filled one layer with leftover beef curry, and gently place two bunny onigiris on the curry. I filled around the onigiri with more curry just to pad it out. By this time, I’ve accidentally stained my bunnies with curry – and had to come up with an ingenious idea ; cut a thin slice of ham and layer it over the stains! Ta-da! Small carrot flowers on the bunny ears round the bottom layer up :).

As there was quite alot going on in the first layer, I’ve kept the second layer simple. A small side salad of romaine hearts is flocked by ham flower strips and two of my final batch of homegrown tomatoes. I’m trying to stretch out my last tomato harvest, and am limiting myself to two a day πŸ™‚ .

.

bento81e

.

All tied up in a matching bento belt! (You can purchase the box I used here) I must thank bff dreymer for getting me a bunch of matching bunny bento gear – about 50% of my bento accessories are gifts from her. Cute little picks, barans, bento belts…the only thing I bought are boxes. I’m not really one that matches accessories ect, prefering the thrown together mismatch look; which unfortunately don’t always ‘go’. Incidentally, she loves bunnies πŸ™‚ . She’s thinking of starting her own bento-making …… with her eye for matching cute accessories I think she’ll be ace! Don’t you want to see her bento creations as well? πŸ™‚

.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2010 10:19 pm

    Curry sounds delish! Will be making an appearance here in the cool months ahead for sure. Love the happy bunnies!

    • September 22, 2010 8:13 am

      Can’t wait to see your curry Sheri! Bet it’ll be delicious πŸ™‚

  2. September 22, 2010 12:38 am

    Love your ham flower, looks like from ribbon … nice! Bunnies are so cute and curry is so yum, I am hungry now talking about curry πŸ™‚

    • September 22, 2010 8:14 am

      Thanks Lia! I love the ham flowers too….I meant to do a short tutorial on ham flower/strip deco, but never get around to it…meh.

  3. September 22, 2010 6:41 am

    What’s not real about it? It’s real fast, real easy, real cheap and real good! Sounds plenty real to me πŸ™‚

  4. September 22, 2010 7:35 am

    What a lovely bento and the curry looks yum-yum!
    I LURVE the box!!!! Cupcakes!!!! Woooooohoooo!!

  5. dreymer permalink
    September 22, 2010 8:04 am

    I LOVE BUNNIES!!!! Thanks for thinking of me!

    • September 22, 2010 8:19 am

      I know – reminds me of your smelly bunny…hahahahahaha!

      I think that should be your first. make something with a bunny face. Mini cutters set at Daiso is very useful for that….or this onigiri shaper

  6. September 22, 2010 10:02 am

    Mmmmm you are making me want curry too! That looks delicious! πŸ™‚

    • September 22, 2010 10:15 am

      Thanks Heather! I am really looking forward to a curry lunch – curries always tastes nicer the next day πŸ™‚

  7. September 22, 2010 6:32 pm

    It looks delish wanna share the recipe πŸ˜‰ The rabbits are adorable love the expressions..lol

Leave a Reply

