Skip to content

Bento 82: Omu-spaghetti

September 22, 2010

.

bento82a

.

I’ve been meaning to try an array of soup from the chiller section of my local supermarket. Everyday I tell myself – don’t pack a bento tomorrow, have one of them soup, take it easy. And I’ve been failing big time. Come 6.30pm, even when I’m feeling totally uninspired, I automatically head to the kitchen, stare at the fridge, and start taking out bento making basics from the fridge. Total sucker.

.

Today I was feeling more uninspired than usual. When I’m uninspired, I either end up with some sort of crazy meal or something from the frozen bento stash on white rice. Nothing wrong with that – I still feel it’s better than sandwich, chocolate and a packet of crisps. However, today my uninspired mode went overdrive. I made Omu-Spaghetti. Does that even exist? I initially wanted to make some omuraisu (Japanese-styled fried rice wrapped up in a thin omelet) , but after finding a tub of leftover wheat spaghetti in the fridge, I decided to try out some fried spaghetti wrapped in an omelet instead! Yup, call me crazy.

.

bento82b

.

I browned some garlic, ginger and onions, and added chopped up hot dog and remains from cutting out carrot flowers. I tipped in the leftover spaghetti, splash some soy sauce and gave it a good stir. I added peas and sweetcorn towards the end, and mixed in some toasted sesame seed and a splash of sesame oil. It is then wrapped up up in a thin omelet, and there you go, one omu-spaghetti served up!!

.

bento82c

.

I added some decorative touches on the omelet…heh. I was in the mood for words for some very strange reason….Two carrot flowers with olive hearts complete the ham ‘sign’ 🙂 . To round this bento up, I have 1/2 fig, a small salad under the two ripe tomatoes and some brocolli. Carbs, fruit, veg, protein = check. Green, yellow, black, red, orange = check. One more bento up for lunch, another missed opportunity at the soup bar! But you know what? I don’t feel bad at all. In fact, I am quite looking forward to my weird omu-spaghetti 🙂 .

.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2010 8:55 pm

    Always so nice to ❤ lunch; whatever you decide to make! @Lovelylanvin just posted omu- yakisoba recipe. It's good with fried noodles!

    • September 23, 2010 10:07 am

      I must try omuyakisoba ; it looks soooo much nicer! The sauce looks like something I ought to definately add…yumss

  2. September 22, 2010 11:19 pm

    That looks yummy! Love how you packed it with the pretty carrot flowers. 🙂

    • September 23, 2010 10:29 am

      Thanks Susan! You always have a kind word no matter how simple my bentos are 🙂

  3. September 23, 2010 5:10 am

    Awesome omu-spaghetti! If you give it to me then I might think fried rice inside hehehe … Surprise, surprise … really cool 🙂

    • September 23, 2010 10:34 am

      Hahahah…yeah! Or yaki soba, or sauteed potatoes, or stirfry veggies…

      Omu-present is a great idea 🙂

  4. dreymer permalink
    September 23, 2010 6:43 am

    Makes me wonder how it looks like inside!!! It’s like a present!

  5. September 23, 2010 7:26 am

    Ah Mils, you are so dynamic! So the other day we had bolognese and leftovers .. I thought about making omu-pasta the day after but I thought the idea was silly and gave up! See.. you are my hero 🙂

    • September 23, 2010 11:23 am

      lols! See, ‘silly’ minds think alike! I am always looking for a ‘flat’ surface to decorate, omu-anything seem to be the way forward!

      Can’t wait to see you do an omu-bolognaise!

  6. September 23, 2010 6:25 pm

    Mmmmm that sounds so good!

  7. Athena permalink
    September 26, 2010 8:10 pm

    Haha! I just tried omu-pasta. I found that it was a LOT easier to manuever the noodles after I’d let them cool down in the fridge before packing them into the thin omelette. I dunno…I think it tastes as good as omuraisu. =D And the Boy was very pleased, as he loves his pasta. Thanks for the idea!!

    • September 26, 2010 9:05 pm

      Hi Athena

      Oh I’m so glad to hear that! Yes, I let my pasta cool down slightly before packing them, probably slightly fiddly if you’re not folding them into regular omuraisu-style.]

      Wonder if we can use fried orzo instead? Hmm…

Leave a Reply

