Skip to content

Bento 83: Simple Owl Sandwich

September 23, 2010

.

sparebento2

.

Try as I may, bacon does not do cute at the best of times. However, his colleagues enjoy a good cute lunch, and always look forward to when I pack him a bento. He, however, as much as he likes me packing his lunch, don’t really want sandwiches cut into adorable shapes with nori features all over it to resemble a cat.

So in this bento, I came with an ingenious idea of having the best of both worlds! Bread-shaped sandwiches, stuffed full with ham and cheese, I added a simple owl made from ham, cheese and olives for eyes. And voila! Simple, tasty, but with a teeny hint of cuteness.

.

sparebento

.

I also included a cute separator in the box, and added a giant plum, some clementine slices and two tomatoes. He enjoyed it, and so did his colleagues from all that gawking that he reported . As this is a super simple and pretty much idiot-proof bento, it’s a speed bento to boot. An adversion to cuteness does not need to be the end-all to bentos ๐Ÿ™‚

.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2010 9:05 pm

    How funny. I wonder if my boy will grow into a man with aversion to cuteness? We shall see if this is widespread ๐Ÿ™‚ very cute sandwich, to me!

    • September 24, 2010 9:03 am

      I think MM is very well-trained by you – he will be secure enough in his boy-ness to eat cute food ^_^ .

  2. September 23, 2010 9:21 pm

    I think it’s great and still “manly”…lol

    • September 24, 2010 9:04 am

      hahaha – as ‘manly’ as an cheese owl cutout can be…:)

  3. September 23, 2010 11:39 pm

    The owl with its big round eyes is so adorable!

    Men! Why can’t they accept cute things like we girls do??? ๐Ÿ˜›
    I can bet during those courting days they often say ‘awww… you’re so cute!’ ๐Ÿ˜›

    My hubby always says our little girl is so cute but when I make cute bento he
    always gave me the ‘are you nuts’ look. One day I’m going to make him a Hello Kitty
    bento and let him freak out! hahahahaha

    • September 24, 2010 9:04 am

      I know right. It must be easier being girls….society ‘allows’ us to succumb to cuteness ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Emily Ng permalink
    September 24, 2010 2:31 am

    Simple and pretty. The owl is cute. Men can’t accept cute things, just like my husband too., but he like to look at cute things…hahaha…

    • September 24, 2010 9:10 am

      Hi Emily – maybe he’s a closet cute-lover! That would be so funny ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. September 24, 2010 3:33 am

    oh my, that is too stinkin’ cute! thank you for sharing and for inspiring!

    • September 24, 2010 9:09 am

      Thanks Kelly for your kind words :). What’s better is that it took no time at all to add that little touch of cuteness there ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. September 24, 2010 8:55 am

    Can we say men’s brain works differently from women? They love cute things but just don’t want to admit it freely LOL ๐Ÿ˜€ Your pink owl is so cute!

    • karaimame permalink
      September 24, 2010 11:25 am

      Agree with Lia!! They just don’t admit it!!
      I loved the sandwich ^_^!

      • September 25, 2010 12:46 pm

        Can you imagine the sandwich in felt? heehhe ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. September 24, 2010 4:37 pm

    This is the cutest owl! I try not to make anything too cute for SM, but when I do, he doesn’t seem to mind and his colleagues love to stare at his lunch.

    • September 25, 2010 12:45 pm

      aww thats nice. I think my problem is trying to get bacon to accept square sandwiches – he’s also not into the okazu style of bento lunches ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

