Skip to content

Bento 84: Mochiko chicken & mini apple

September 26, 2010

.

bento83d

.

Everything is cuter in miniature, and with bentos, this becomes very quickly obvious. Choose small, choose compact, squeeze it in as tightly as possible and voila, lunch! I’ve been keeping my eyes peeled for mini version of everything ever since I started bento-ing, and today at my local Marks & Spencer’s, I found something really cute. It’s called the Rockit apple, a new-ish type of apple grown in New Zealand. It’s grown small, but fully packed with flavour and juiciness. Apples are not one of my favourite fruit, but if they all tasted like this, I would happily eat it! Just look at it next to my little sad giraffe fork-pick:

.

bento83b

.

Ain’t it just so cute! I had to cut a little off the bottom to fit in this box, but this box IS super shallow.

So anyway, today’s bento also feature the island favourite, the mochiko chicken! The wonderful thing about packing bentos is that I’ve made so many online friends of fellow bento packers. A large porportion of these girls are from Hawai’i – and they’ve introduced me to the wonderful Hawaiian cuisine of mochiko chicken, butter mochi and loco moco. Mochiko chicken is now fast becoming my favourite recipe, even though when I did make it the first time around I thought I was being clever by deviating from Debra’s karaage recipe..

.

bento83a

.

Tomorrow’s bento have been kept pretty simple (it IS lazy sunday today 🙂 ) – mochiko chicken, brocollini, carrot flowers and rice mixed in with some tarako furikake which was going off as I very rarely have furikake anymore. In my fruit layer, I have 1/2 fig, some end-of-season English elsanta strawberries and the cutie mini apple :). It was pretty much a speed bento as the mochiko were leftovers and the rice was from my frozen batch. I know you’re supposed to work on replenishing your bento stash over the weekend so you’ll have stuff for bentos during the week, but I am always way too lazy to replenish on weekends!!

.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2010 9:00 pm

    Lovely! My Sunday bento is often leftovers. Okay, *always*, hehe! So cute the mini apple! Mine are crabapples so they’re tart, but luckily my kids like ’em like that 🙂

    • September 26, 2010 9:13 pm

      Lols! Yeah, I think Sunday bentos are always the hardest – sooooo lazy! I don’t really like crabapples, but yours are so adorable – I am looking forward to seeing them!

      And your kids are so good to be eating tart apples…it’s very rare for kids to like tart apples – me including 😛

  2. September 26, 2010 9:24 pm

    Beautiful bento Mils! Thanks for the mentions!

    • September 26, 2010 9:34 pm

      Thanks for your recipes Debra – simple to follow and turns out delicious!

  3. September 26, 2010 9:53 pm

    Love the cute tiny apple, but I think I love the giraffe more. That mochiko chicken is definitely on my bento to-do list!!

    • September 27, 2010 12:47 pm

      Megg, I would suggest doing the mochiko chicken en-bulk…you will have more than you think you need – cutting it into bite size helps with the overconsumption as well.

      I love the girrafe too. It’s one of my favourite picks; I can use just that to eat a whole lunch

  4. dreymer permalink
    September 27, 2010 6:05 am

    Cute la the banana paper thinghy!

    • September 27, 2010 12:45 pm

      ehehe – is it because you actually bought this for me? Self praise!

      But in all seriousness, it’s pretty cute. And easy way to add a splash of colour

  5. September 27, 2010 9:25 am

    Oooohh I love this bento!

  6. September 27, 2010 12:08 pm

    The apple would be just the right size for my toddler to hold. What a wonderful lunch.

    • September 27, 2010 12:43 pm

      Yes, I think that lovely apple was probably designed for kids :). I think it’ll probably help as well with kids who have too little time for lunch; an apple might take some time to consume, but with one so small, it’ll probably take half the time.

  7. September 28, 2010 8:56 am

    What a delicious looking bento you have there!

Trackbacks

  1. Bento 86: Dino Love!!! « not another brown bag lunch…

Leave a Reply

