Skip to content

Bento 85: TwitterTacoParty bento!

September 28, 2010

.

If you’ve been following me on twitter, you would’ve seen a large flurry of twitter taco party messages yesterday! A bunch of us on twitter decided to hold a virtual taco party and make tacos!!! It was amazing that all our tacos are completely different, and I seriously wished we could’ve actually do this in real, all the tacos from the vietnamese version to the soyrizo version looks fabulous! The other tweeps who ‘attended’ this fun-filled taco party were @hapabento @fujimama @passthepocky @sherimiya & @LovelyLanvin . Go drool at their yummy taco pictures!

I fell asleep long before the twitter taco party started – what can I say, it had been a looooong monday and I’m on GMT 0! I made taco soup, with home made tortilla chips cut from a large tortilla. Just oil them slightly, pop in the oven at 250 F until it crisps up! I left mine in for 10-15 mins as I forgot about them, and were slightly burnt. Sprinkle some paprika over it when it gets out of the oven – I did it before and it burnt in the oven 😦 . Very pretty addition, and may I say, even nicer than your regular tortilla chips as I made it extra crispy to dunk in the taco soup. Mm Mm good. I first had taco soup in New York this year (recommeded by another tweeter friend, Megan! ), and had not looked back since. It’s perfect for the perpetually bleah weather that we get in the UK, a hot bowl of steaming taco .

.

tacoparty

.

I was going to turn the taco soup into a bento, but as it was so delicious, we actually finished it for dinner. Uh- oh. Fear not, I had prepared and saved 1/2 my taco-seasoned beef before I turned it into taco soup! My submission was actually between taco soup and taco rice, and I had saved the taco beef to turn into taco rice. Therefore, tomorrow would be taco rice lunch.

Taco rice is a REAL dish (no, I didn’t make it up) from Japan. Okinawa to be precise, and is also known as takoraisu. The invention fo this crazy dish was accredited to the US Marines located in Okinawa. Homesickness for good ole tex mex food paired taco staples with rice (tortillas are pretty hard to come by out of the Americas – or North America to be precise) transformed this tex mex dish into something that is quinessentially Japanese. And I love japanese take on foods from other cultures – youshouku (western-influenced) and chuka (chinese-influenced) food love all around!

.

bento85a

.

Taco rice contains all the fixings of tacos – with rice replacing the main job of the taco. My rice is shaped into a flower onigiri, unfortunately my ham and polony had both gone off today and I was unable to cut a better ‘face’ for it :(. My taco rice is slightly deconstructed (like my taco soup) , usually all taco fixings are piled on top of a plateful of rice. It’s still all there though – rice, taco beef, salsa, jalapenos, cheese, lettuce and a small pot of sour cream. You could replace the beef with taco-flavoured soy beans for a veggie version. I popped in some of my homemade flower tortilla chips as well for additional crunch…I love their shape 🙂

.

bento85b

Aren’t they just the cutest?

.

Taco rice FTW! Actually, TacoTwitterParty FTW. It had been so much fun – and I think we’re going to be doing this monthly, which is so great! Not only it gives me the motivation to do something different, it was so fun seeing everyone else’s take on the humble taco. Everyone’s invited, so come join in our party for next month!

.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2010 7:01 pm

    Yummy! This looks so so good! I think I’d like takoraisu too…

    • September 28, 2010 8:50 pm

      Thanks sheri – I might try it with yaki onigiri next time..think the texture would work beautifully

  2. September 28, 2010 7:10 pm

    Now this is MY kind of taco dish!! With rice. Very much like taco bibimpap! Pls set another table setting out, I’m heading your way. lol!

    • September 28, 2010 8:49 pm

      Lols, a rice-girl like me, yay!! Everything just tastes nicer with rice – and I like the name…taco bibimpap! You’re welcome for lunch, dinner or breakfast anytime…

  3. Athena permalink
    September 28, 2010 10:30 pm

    I think it’s fascinating the way different cultures adapt the other’s foods to suit their needs. Tacorice! =O I wasn’t aware that tortillas weren’t available everywhere, having never lived out of the US. I like the idea of using it for a bento because in my experience, tortillas don’t do so great in a bento. =/ What I’ve done in the past is use larger pieces of firmer lettuce like Romaine or cup-like like Butter lettuce to act in place of the “taco shell” and then made the spicy rice and beef (or chicken) on top of those, and the other fixings to put on it in separate containers. But, this looks like it’s less effort, which means it’ll probably show up in my bento repetoire very soon. =D

    • September 29, 2010 8:38 am

      Hi Athena

      I actually count myself lucky that we can get some here – the only ones that are widely available are the Old El Paso tortillas & other fixings. There are a large number of ‘fake’ mexican restaurants all over the place, just like how you get tonnes of fake sushi restaurants in the world. And then there are those who cannot tell their pico from their verde apart. If I had not lived in California previously, I would be equally misinformed as well!

      I know what you mean, hopefully this ‘type’ of taco will keep better in a bento. I would wrap the taco chips by itself though – it became dislodged and was all over the place.

  4. September 28, 2010 11:13 pm

    It’s great to see everyone’s taco creation! And yours are so yummy too … Taco soup and taco rice, both are fabulous idea 🙂

    • September 29, 2010 8:19 am

      Thanks Lia! I’ve got loads of taco ideas from these ladies and am sure will be replicating them shortly.

      The taco soup is really yummy, and perfect for a country with blah weather…like here!

  5. September 29, 2010 1:29 am

    I love your taco soup! It looks delish and such a cute bento too! 🙂

    • September 29, 2010 8:13 am

      Aw, thanks Susan! Hope you’ll have some time in October to join in the fun too, yours would probably come with adorable facial features including googly eyes 🙂

  6. September 29, 2010 7:38 am

    Hi Mils! OMGosh, I had so much fun, planning and executing my tacos for this virtual feast! Your taco soup looks healthy and hearty…something I must try to make for myself!
    Can’t wait until the next #twitterfoodparty

    • September 29, 2010 8:08 am

      Hi Debra! I had so much fun too, and really can’t wait until the next #twitterfoodparty ! Why didn’t we think of this before?

      Your mexi-chicken taco looks deeeelish….need to try that soon…I like it how you used your own spices; I just settled for the packaged stuff 😦

Trackbacks

  1. Bento 101: The TwitterFoodParty pancake bento! « not a brown bag

Leave a Reply

