Skip to content

Bento 87: The hidden cabbage

September 30, 2010

.

bento87c

.

Huh. I nearly didn’t post this up today. I knew I wanted to make an onigiri, and that the only piece of greenery left in the fridge were some lettuce. The fridge is looking pretty bare, and even the pantry seems cleaned out – I can’t even find some nori! Gahh! So I came up with the brilliant idea of shaping a ‘baby cabbage’ with what I have on hand. I don’t even know what it resembles….an onigiri in disguise in a cabbage patch? Some strange white bits in the middle of some lettuce leaves? Alien eyes? I thoroughly confuse myself sometimes.

I stuffed a llarge onigiri (1/2 cup of rice) with leftover taco beef from earlier in the week. Heh. So this is like a taco rice onigiri! I wrapped it with some ettuce leaves disguising as a cabbage. The 1/2 orange sweet pepper add colour to this layer. For extra protein to keep me going without putting me to bed, there is a small silicon container of taco chicken strips from my frozen bento stash. As they are in their own little container, I can whizz them separately in the microwave if I like. And the very, very last two tomatoes off my homegrown tomato plants!!! Everybody say ole!!

.

bento87b

.

If the onigiri looks too large for the box, well, it is. I propped it up on the lettuce to snap a picture before putting it down ‘to sleep’. I wonder if I’ll be using the lettuce leaves to eat the onigiri with – sort of replacing the purpose of nori. And I really need to get more nori in. Ugh..

I’ve kept it extremely simple on the snack/fruit layer, lettuce leaves, strawberries (I sliced them after taking a photo to squeeze the lid on) and a tiny pot of corn. I seemed to have lost my edamame somewhere in the freezer. Hm. I need to get more organized, at the moment my freezer seems to be a warzone. I like to keep a freezer drawer organized with just bento-friendly frozen foods i.e. gyozas, rice etc, but at the moment there is a very large chicken sitting next to my bag of gyozas there. So nope, not working out at all!

At least this is a speed bento!

.

bento87a

.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2010 7:48 pm

    This looks and it sounds amazing! Taco rice.. lol. Love that! I’d just smother the little dude in kojuchang and eat him up! Fast. : ) What are the eyes made from? He is really super cute. Plus, great photography!

    • October 1, 2010 11:36 am

      Thanks so much Chantale! The eyes are glued on nori…

  2. September 30, 2010 8:02 pm

    I like what Chantale tweeted: Ninja Cabbage Patch! No need to be embarassed by this one, Mils. It’s hilarious and super cute. Good luck organizing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • October 1, 2010 11:37 am

      You’ve got the hilarity part right! Hehehe…I sometimes have no idea what goes through this brain of mine..

  3. September 30, 2010 8:04 pm

    It looks like a ninja hiding in a bush *g*

    • October 1, 2010 11:37 am

      Thanks – I think it looks like a ninja as well now…ninja cabbage!

  4. September 30, 2010 8:24 pm

    Taco onigiri? I like the kochujang idea of Chantale’s! Yummy!

    • October 1, 2010 11:38 am

      I am going wild with my onigiri ingreddients – the poor beef taco meat…hehe. It actually tasted lovely

  5. October 1, 2010 4:05 am

    Heehee, love it! Super cute!

    • October 1, 2010 11:38 am

      Thanks Susan – it’s slightly mad, but at least better than a store-bought lunch!

  6. dreymer permalink
    October 1, 2010 6:59 am

    Hahaha that’s really creative! Looks like someone in tudung!! LOL

    • October 1, 2010 11:39 am

      I’m going to do a real onigiri with tudung…just figuring out material..

  7. October 1, 2010 10:14 am

    Looks so cute and mysterious! hehehe … I like it Mils ๐Ÿ™‚

    • October 1, 2010 11:38 am

      Thanks Lia – hidden onigiri, crouching cabbage! Lols

  8. Athena permalink
    October 1, 2010 3:17 pm

    Oh goodness! I cracked up when I saw the picture for the bento with the ninja cabbage. That would be a really, really excellent idea to pack for a kid’s bento, especially if they’d just watched something with a ninja in it (I can easily see how if you add on maybe a belt of nori over the cabbage (perhaps with use of plastic wrap) to give it a headband you could really make it look like a ninja from a movie!). It did make for a lot of green (lettuce, tops of the strawberries, green pick), but that’s not necessarily a bad thing. It does make it a very nice and bright bento! =D I’m also wondering now if it’d be possible to angle the cabbage just right to give it a samurai hat, complete with little notch to look through with one eye at one’s opponent….haha!

    • October 5, 2010 8:20 pm

      You have some very good suggestions – very interesting! I will give it a go the next time I have a glut of lettuce!

  9. October 3, 2010 5:02 am

    Very healthy looking! Those strawberries almost look fake they are so red. I hope you enjoyed lunch.

    • October 5, 2010 8:21 pm

      Thanks so much – I loved my lunch :). The strawberries do look very fake..hehe

  10. October 5, 2010 9:06 am

    Yeah, by first look to me it looks like ninja, a cute one! ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

