Skip to content

Bento 90: Leftover Sunday Lunch

October 17, 2010

bento90d

.

It’s been AGESSS since I did a proper bento posting. I’ve been ill (food poisoning, gah), lazy, and sick again (have a cold now). I blame it on the weather myself – its been free-eeeezing here in the UK and I’m not feeling quite myself. I made a couple of bentos last week but as I was too ill to do some proper grocery shopping, had no greenery at all; which is totally not me.

So as I sat sniffing on a Sunday evening, I thought I’ll do a proper posting up today. No cuteness in sight as I literally spent 5 minutes in my kitchen with a pair of chopsticks. Bacon made dinner today – and it being a Sunday, it’s the traditional English roast for lunch/dinner today. He grew up having a traditional roast every Sunday – Yorkshire pudding, roast veggies, gravy and roast chicken/pork/beef. Ever since we got married he had been subjected to non-traditional food on Sundays – Thai, dim sum, curries….the list goes on. Taking advantage of my sickness, it was Sunday Roast weekend again!

.

bento90d

.

For tomorrow, there is 1/2 homegrown baby butternut squash that we grew earlier in the season (been in the fridge for a week or two) , some mini brussels sprouts, braised celery, a chunk of roasted harlequin pumpkin, some homegrown carrots and what is that purple thingy? That’s right folks, I found some purple potatoes for sale!!! I LOVE it!!!! How vibrant is that purple colour? I love it! Protein consist of shredded leftover roast chicken – as many bento friends would agree, is an excellent staple for leftover bentos. I added a cute jack-0-lantern pick to cheer me up tomorrow at lunch – hehe. Easy way of getting some cuteness into lunch, and I’ve been feeling so left out for not starting on the halloween bento themes!

.

bento90c

.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2010 7:53 pm

    Oh, looks so tasty. Lucky you to have bacon cooking for you! Take care and feel better soon!

    • October 20, 2010 6:56 pm

      heheeh – bacon is a pretty good cook – with limited recepies though!

  2. October 17, 2010 8:04 pm

    I hope your cold goes away soon! I love the colors in your bento, they all go together really pretty. Looks tasty too! πŸ™‚

    • October 20, 2010 6:55 pm

      I love the colours too – the purple is so vibrant πŸ™‚

  3. October 19, 2010 1:34 am

    Oh no, I hope you get better soon! Gorgeous bento!

    • October 20, 2010 6:54 pm

      Hi Susan – yes I’m feeling better now thanks!

  4. October 19, 2010 6:17 am

    Love the colour combination of your bento so much! The food certainly look yummy!

Leave a Reply

