Skip to content

Bento 91: Ochazuke soba

October 20, 2010

bento91c

.

What?? Ochazuke soba?! Yes, I know, I know – ochazuke is traditionally made with rice, like my bento of ochazuke here. However, I have been sick with food poisoning last week and a cold this week, and have been having hot food for lunch to keep me warm. It is just slightly above freezing outside; unseasonably cold for October, even in the UK.

And cold weather always calls for hot noodle soup – something that is not easy to replicate on a bento-level. Keeping the soup warm, transporting liquid – not really recommended for my commute to work. So I whipped out the ochazuke mix, which turns into a very tasty salmon-flavoured green tea. This is then poured over my soba/wakame/sesame mix (make sure to rinse well after boiling and properly drained), with a variety of other side dishes to turn it into a healthy and nutritious meal.

.

bento91b

.

In my little tiffin, I have soba mixed in with wakame & sesame, sliced roast chicken, two wedge of purple potato, purple carrot rounds (cutting them into flowers would’ve remove that purply bit unfortunately), peapods and slices of baked sweet harlequin pumpkin. Not bad huh. Most of it were thrown together from leftovers, the only thing that I cooked was the soba noodles, taking 2 mins boiling.

Fast, tasty and more importanly, WARMING. Perfect lunch for such chilly weather.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2010 8:33 pm

    Yummy! Will be craving this in upcoming cold dreary days of winter. It’ll bring a smile to your face for sure!

  2. October 20, 2010 9:50 pm

    Sorry to hear you got sick hun but that lunch looks mighty delish and colorful!

  3. October 21, 2010 4:01 am

    What a fabulous way to have hot soup for lunch!

    • October 21, 2010 7:01 pm

      It’s been way too cold for october here – needed something soupy!

  4. October 21, 2010 9:33 am

    Mils, so sorry to hear that you were sick before. I think I miss out some of your posts. Warm Ochazuke Soba is perfect! Lovely and yummy bento as always 🙂

    • October 21, 2010 7:01 pm

      Thanks so much Lia 🙂 Yeah I’ve been missing in action for a while now 😦

Leave a Reply

