Skip to content

Bento 92: Halloween Bento overload!

October 21, 2010

.

bento92e

.

I have been ill for a week and abit, and bento making have been pretty minimal on my list. So long that I have wondered if I still remember how to make a bento! I have been jealous of all those lovely halloween bentos that have been making an appearance in the bento world – I wanna play too! So my comeback bento is chock full of halloween items – hey, it doesn’t all match, but I needed to back in my bento making groove ;). Only one more week to Halloween you know…

.

bento92b

.

First, I made an omuraisu (fried rice wrapped with a thin omelet) with a black egg sheet – I rarely use food colouring on my bentos, but thought, oh what the heck! On top of that, I halved a roasted purple potato and turned them into jack-o-lanterns with cheese cutouts. They get a stalk pick as well to add more greenery.I pad the other half of the bento box with lettuce leaves to prop the rest of the food up. I sliced up some roast chicken and roasted pumpkin, layering them and tucking in some peapods. A quarter of an apple gave it the splash of red this bento needed, with ‘Boo’ cut out of apple slices soaked in lemon water. And some baby corn tips tucked into the sides – I used the rest in my fried rice which contains more chopped up carrots and peas.

I have no halloween cutters at all, and found it difficult to come up with halloween shapes and not splurging out on some halloween cutters. I plan to do more halloween bentos coming up to next Sunday – wish me luck! If you’re in the market for some super adorable Halloween bentos, Sheri has got loaaaads on! Go ahead, have a peep!

.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2010 6:55 pm

    Woh! Got my Halloween fix for the week I think! Fab bento! I made a Boo! Yesterday too!
    Thanks for the mention, and glad you’re feeling better. Now cuddle up and relax πŸ˜€

    • October 21, 2010 7:06 pm

      Heheh thanks Sheri! It was all that repressed bentos inside of me. I must’ve missed your Boo! – off to stalk your blog now!

      I promise I will tone it down next week lols !

  2. October 21, 2010 7:35 pm

    Love it! And the omuraisu sounds yummy. I hope you feel better, mils!

    • October 21, 2010 7:43 pm

      I am, thanks so much! I love omuraisu – perks up plain ole rice !

  3. October 21, 2010 11:04 pm

    Yummy omuraisu! Love the Halloween colors in your bento … so boo!! I know you have tons of idea, love to see your next creation (^.^)

    • October 22, 2010 7:41 am

      My egg sheet is coming out nice now because of you! Your Halloween bentos are not too shabby either – love the spider best!

  4. October 22, 2010 2:08 am

    I know! All the Halloween bentos are making me want to make something cute too!

    • October 22, 2010 7:40 am

      Hehe – I would probably not take a leaf from my book and go all halloween explosion in one bento :).

  5. Dreymer permalink
    October 22, 2010 1:24 pm

    Wow! I love this, you’re getting good!!! For actual Halloween what u gonna make??

    • October 24, 2010 6:43 pm

      Hehe do you love the purple potato?

      I don’t know – it’s on a Sunday, and I have weekend guests – so not sure if I can even churn out a bento. Oh, yeah actually – we’re going for steamboat on Halloween’s day. .. so no bento then…

  6. karaimame permalink
    October 22, 2010 2:55 pm

    spooky black omurice! Wow, really into the Halloween feelings! πŸ™‚
    I loved your handmade trick or treat pick too!
    Now I sit and wait for your next themed bento ^_^ *lol*

    • October 24, 2010 6:42 pm

      Thanks! I loooove halloween, it’s such a fun and vibrant celebration – and of course, there’s the candy!

Leave a Reply

