Skip to content

Bento 93: Jack-O-Lantern Three Little Piggies

October 24, 2010

bento93cc

.

The Halloween season continues! Taking blatant inspiration ripping off Sheri, I fancied doing some orange jack-o-lanterns as well! I carved a jack-o-lantern on a clementine (my favourite sort of mini oranges!) and propped it up with some lettuce ( it gets pushed down to close the box). I made a simple soba salad as my ‘main’, and cut three piggies out from sliced polony, nori eyes and cheese snouts. I think what I wanted to depicit was the jack-o-lantern chasing the piggies ๐Ÿ˜‰ .

I also have some leftover ‘sambal udang’ – shrimp sauteed in spicy chilli paste with courgettes & beans. I had a small space to fill at the end of the box, so I filled it with mini cup of salad; lettuce, cheese and a purple carrot flower :).

.

bento93aa

.

I make my soba salad pretty regularly, and thought I would share the recipe that I use. You can mix and match this any way you like, add in edamame, beans, carrots – anything really.

Simple Soba Salad
Salad:
2 portions of soba – thoroughly rinse them in running water to remove the starch after cooking. Drain thoroughly
1 tsp dried wakame – soak in hot water to reconstitute & thoroughly rinse and drain

Dressing:
2 tbs shoyu
1 tbs mirin
2 tbs sugar
1 tbs sesame oil
3 tbs cider vineger, or rice vineger
1 tbs toasted sesame seed

Just mix, and serve! You will have excess dressing sinking to the bottom of the bowl, drain that so you do not end up with a soggy salad. This makes two portions, just double or halve the recipe as needed. Quick and easy, I usually do this within 10 minutes, perfect for speed bentos.

.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Athena permalink
    October 24, 2010 7:04 pm

    Haha–I was going along the lines of “The Three Little Piggies” and the Big Bad Wolf before “Jack o’ Lantern chases pigs through the streets.” It’s too bad Ichabod Crane would just be too insane to reproduce for a bento that isn’t a full on charaben bento. I do love those dark noodles though! I can easily see them as being a great background for any time a bento calls for “night time” (with cheese stars yay!), or in this case, helping to really set the Halloween Mood with the “pumpkin,” which you did a great job with! =D

    • October 24, 2010 7:33 pm

      Thanks Athena! Soba comes in a selection of colours (pink=ume green=green tea) but my recent purchase seems to be darker than usual; probably perfect for Halloween!

  2. October 24, 2010 7:12 pm

    Haha! You’re funny Mils. Love to see the carve mini jacks taking over the bento world in October. Gives me some kind of morbid fascination. Love this kind of bento for Sunday. Quick and with leftovers – yum ๐Ÿ™‚

    • October 24, 2010 7:34 pm

      I really enjoy your carved jacks – you seem to turn anything into jacks and do it sooo well! I am going to miss it when Halloween is over ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  3. October 25, 2010 8:45 am

    Haha…Jack O’Lantern with 3 little piggies, what a great combination! ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Emily Ng permalink
    October 26, 2010 6:13 am

    Ooo…cute piggies and beautiful orange jack-o-lantern. The bento look so yummy yummy too. ^.^

    • October 26, 2010 7:58 pm

      Thanks Emily – I like the piggies too ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. January 3, 2015 7:46 pm

    Wow! That’s a really neat anwrse!

Leave a Reply

