Skip to content

Bento 94: More Soba & Jacks

October 25, 2010

bento94b

.

I made a bento for bacon as well yesterday when I was making mine. Most of you know that he is pretty cute-adverse at times; he likes my cute bentos, but not for him to bring to work. I don’t blame him really; he sometimes have to eat his lunch whilst in a meeting – a hello kitty sandwich is probably not the best :). I still try to sneak in the occasional cute though, just toned down slightly.

.

bento94a

.

In his bento, I omitted the wakame from his soba as he is seaweed-adverse. Instead, I decorated it with takuan and eggplant pickle, which he loves. A cute little jack-o-lantern is included – it’s not *that* cute right..hehe. I also made a simple veggie ham rollup: roll a slice of ham over two peapods and a baby sweetcorn; panfry, and voila! The vibrant orange square is a mini dessert – a Halloween fondant fancie! I turned a homegrown purple carrot into a carrot flower, and a saran-wrapped chunk of cheese to fill that teensy weensy space. Probably best, as he loves cheese with a passion – left to his own devices, he can have cheese, pickles, bread/crackers every day for lunch.

Speedy, *nearly* non cute, easy and fairly balanced (other than the cheeky fondant fancie, but hey, it’s Halloween!) . If you’re wondering how did I close the box, the orange was propped up with some lettuce leaves which was easily squeezed down, and I slanted the veggie rolls slightly.

.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2010 8:17 pm

    Another nice job on the jack. Speaking of cute, isn’t this the Daytrippers box? Haha!

    • October 25, 2010 8:37 pm

      shh…

      HAHAHAHA! I am trying to persuade him that it’s manly because it’s BLUE :D.

  2. October 26, 2010 5:47 am

    Very nice Mils! The cute happy Jack is perfect in this box. Festive colors for Halloween πŸ™‚

    • October 26, 2010 7:54 pm

      Thanks Lia! Maybe that’s why I like Halloween…all that orange!

  3. Emily Ng permalink
    October 26, 2010 6:17 am

    Cute little Jack, you are good in crafting oranges. πŸ™‚ The purple carrot is nice, at first I thought it is purple sweet potato…haha. Never see this at my place here.

    • October 26, 2010 7:58 pm

      I am loving the purple carrots too – I can’t find them in the markets and have had to grow my own πŸ™‚

  4. October 26, 2010 10:28 am

    The colors here are amazing! Wow! Everything goes together so well, it looks wonderful!

  5. October 26, 2010 11:49 am

    Very nice πŸ™‚ Just the right “cute-not-so-cute” balance. I especially like the flower carrot.

    • October 26, 2010 8:00 pm

      Heheh – i like the carrot flower too, colours make such a big difference!

  6. October 26, 2010 10:57 pm

    wow nicely cut orange. Very cute!

    • October 27, 2010 12:55 pm

      Thanks – the orange was pretty easy actually, which is shocking!

Leave a Reply

