Skip to content

Bento 95: Egg-O-Lantern & #twitterfoodparty

October 26, 2010

bento95d

.

Yesterday’s #twitterFoodParty ( the #twitterpastaparty edition) was fun!! Who would imagine there is such a large variety of noodles and pastas available? From noodle rolls to pasta bakes, it is amazing seeing what we all got up to cooking noodles for dinner. As it was National Pasta Day yesterday, this was very appropriate!

I made Japanese beef curry with buttered noodles over fresh spinach – somehow that just came to me and I thought it would be a good idea! It didn’t actually taste that bad, pretty decent. The thick creamy curry coats the thick egg noodles well, strange eating curry with noodles instead of rice, but it truly isn’t too bad. And extras were turned into tomorrow’s bento – I packed the curry separately in a silicon cup so I can microwave it before mixing in with the noodles. As with leftover bentos, this took less than 10 mins – even carving the boiled egg and wilting the spinach!

bento95b

An Egg-O-Lantern sits atop the buttered noodles which have been premixed with wilted spinach. Hehee – to go with the halloween theme, I painted the eyes and nose with ketchup to resemble blood, and stuck a ‘nail’ pick through it to resemble a head wound – dripping with ketchup. Love it. I’ve been waiting for 8 months to use this :). Egg-carving is another trick I stole from Sheri – girl had carved jack faces into nearly everything edible! They are so cute!

In the bento I also had some sliced nectarine, peapods and more wilted sesame spinach. Two ‘ghost’ marshmallows sits atop the spinach. No, I don’t eat the marshmallow with the spinach, I actually kept the marshmallow on a different layer to keep it away from the savory foodstuff :). You can see it through the cover of my box….

.

bento95c

The keen-eyed would’ve noticed that I’m using a new bento box!! I purchased this box earlier in October but forgot all about it and it got left on my kitchen table. I love the design of this Pop Owls box, it is a duplicate in design with my Daytrippers box – excellent size and love the movable divider and top layer. Yes, I didn’t really need another box of the same shape, but it’s probably one of my most-used box, I love it!

.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. karaimame permalink
    October 26, 2010 7:00 pm

    Oh wow! The egg is so creepy! Very good!!!
    Putting the curry in a different cup is also smart.. it won´t stain this cute bento box! Owl_my_god ^_^

    • October 26, 2010 8:01 pm

      Yes – I’ve had curry stain so many of my boxes – and alot of my boxes are not microwave-safe either 😦

  2. October 26, 2010 7:30 pm

    Nice bloody egg job! You can’t resist the carving either, eh? Haha!
    Sounds delish all together; love the hippie owls and the ghostmallows. Altogether spooky bento 🙂

    • October 26, 2010 8:02 pm

      I know – you’ve got me hooked on carving now!! I am going to be carving everything in sight now..

  3. October 26, 2010 7:32 pm

    Haha! This is a classic! Totally fun and awesome. That bloody egg is hilarious and cool!

  4. October 27, 2010 3:46 am

    oh..cool egg-o-lantern, nice crafting work and the blood…oh…scary! I love the owl box, so cute. 🙂

    • October 27, 2010 12:54 pm

      Thanks Emily, I love the box too – perfect size for lunch!

  5. October 27, 2010 9:14 am

    Very very very cool! Love the idea Mils … Hope don’t BOO you when you open the box hahaha 😀

    • October 27, 2010 12:55 pm

      hehe – can you imagine if it were quail’s eggs instead??? How cute would that be?

      Unfortunately quail’s eggs here are super expensive 😦

Trackbacks

  1. Bento 101: The TwitterFoodParty pancake bento! « not a brown bag

Leave a Reply

