Skip to content

Bento 97: Trio of Radish-O-Lantern & Egg-o-Lantern!

October 28, 2010

benno97a

As you can probably tell by now, I really, REALLY love halloween! I have been sick for two weeks in October, and been unable to keep up with bento making. However, I have been very busy churning out Halloween bento from my kitchen on a daily basis, mydining room table is littered with fruits and veggies just begging to be carved! And today, it’s the turn of the radish!

.

benno97b

Radishes are so cute – they are teensy, cheery red on the outside, clean pale white on the inside. Perfect for bentos I say. The hard texture also made it easy to carve. For today’s bento, I used leftover stirfried vegetables. You may wonder why is it so GREEN – well, somtimes I just need some clorophyll! I sometimes struggle to get my 5 a day in, and especially green leafy vegetables. So today I went all out with a ‘green’ stirfry of spring greens, wilted spinach and courgettes flavoured with sesame oil, chilli flakes and oyster sauce. I try to occasionally get a carb-free bento in, and this definately qualifies after I omitted the rice.

.

benno97d

On the side, I have some tofu skin (yuba) simmerd in dashi and panfried garlic shrimp. In another cup – another Egg-O-Lantern!! This Egg-O-Lantern is literally drowning in it’s own blood…..or ketchup. It is brown as I’ve soaked it in soya sauce, giving it a natural colour and flavour. I should really have padded this bento out with orange slices, but for some very stupid reasons I’ve used fresh pineapples instead. Aah!

Halloween is so close now, this might be my last Halloween bento :(. I may come up with one last one tomorrow, I would miss Halloween when it’s over. However, it’s not too late to join Debra’s Bento Of The Month – this month’s theme is, what else – HALLOWEEN!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2010 8:21 pm

    Cute patch o’ jackos! And the bloody egg is so… icky. But festive! Today’s the last Halloween bento day for us too ; it was fun!

  2. October 28, 2010 8:35 pm

    The nail in the head freaks me out every time!!! Love it! 🙂

  3. karaimame permalink
    October 28, 2010 9:17 pm

    :). Love the radishes ^_^. Each one with a different facial feature 😛

  4. October 29, 2010 12:57 am

    Love this spooky and yet cute bento! The bloody egg with the nail on is really creative and I can’t help smiling on that! 😀

  5. Emily Ng permalink
    October 29, 2010 12:57 am

    Oh..nice crafting egg and radishes. They are so cute and full of festive feel.

  6. October 29, 2010 1:06 pm

    Pooooor Jack! 😉

  7. dreymer permalink
    October 30, 2010 3:55 am

    I like the egg in the a pool of blood ketchup! Radishes raw like that nice meh?

  8. October 30, 2010 6:12 am

    Adorable radishes but love the bloody egg o’lantern…so awesome!

Leave a Reply

