Skip to content

The #twitterfoodparty special sushi edition!!

November 1, 2010

.

sushiparty2

.

For those of you that have been following me on twitter, you would’ve noticed the crazy amount of tweets with the hashtag #twitterfoodparty. A bunch of tweeps & myself get together on every last Monday of the month and cook something together – well, not really together, but we basically cook with the same main inggredient. Last week was noodles/pasta, and in September we had tacos. It might sound like totally lame-o, but I love it :).

.

It’s not end of November yet (which incidentally, I think we’re doing pancakes); but we had to HAVE a special twitterfoodparty today – which is National Sushi Day in Japan!! As most of us are either interested in Japanese cuisine or bento lovers, it seem appropriate for us to celebrate National Sushi Day around the world πŸ™‚ . Unfortunately for me, I am working in Edinburgh tomorrow, and do not need a packed lunch – or even a snack. Peculiarly, I do not enjoy cold food for dinner, so sushi for dinner tonight was out.

.

But there is always bacon. When I am making food just for him, I like to make it with his favourite ingredients instead of mine. Today it’s smoked salmon, cream cheese and cucumber. Cream cheese in sushi is sometimes too creamy for me, but it goes very well with the smoked salmon and cucumber. I packed it with some wasabi ,gari & soy sauce, but knowing him he’ll probably just scoff this down whilst typing away with one hand and completely ignoring the condiments.

.

sushiparty1

So behold, my Philadelphia roll, made in the regular roll style and the uramaki style (inside out). Yep, totally ignore the fact that my uramaki have bits of rice showing and it’s not cut evenly – I was busy cooking dinner whilst trying to roll up :). Interested in #twitterfoodparty ? Follow us here as tweeps around the globe starts posting their submissions! Join us for next month’s theme – PANCAKES!

.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2010 8:32 pm

    I love the black and white effect with sesame seeds and rice.

    • November 1, 2010 8:55 pm

      Thanks Debra! I love black sesame seeds on rice for the same reason – the color is so arresting πŸ™‚

  2. November 1, 2010 8:47 pm

    Oh nice one! I’m always missing these food parties on twitter. : ( But I love backtracking and seeing all your creations. Everyone’s! Mm! I could gobble these up they look so good. : )

    • November 1, 2010 8:56 pm

      Thanks Chantale! Twitterfoodparty is fab – remember remember the last monday of november!

  3. Emily Ng permalink
    November 2, 2010 6:05 am

    Oh, so nice and pretty! Delicious sushi. πŸ™‚

  4. November 2, 2010 6:08 am

    yum, i want to try this combo next

  5. dreymer permalink
    November 2, 2010 1:46 pm

    Looks like dalmatian doggies! Dunno why.. must be the black & white effect

  6. November 11, 2010 9:53 am

    So creative of you to come up with the different size sushi rolls!

Trackbacks

  1. Bento 101: The TwitterFoodParty pancake bento! « not a brown bag

Leave a Reply

