Skip to content

Bento 98: Thai-styled shrimp & spicy potato

November 22, 2010

Hello! Yes it’s me – remember me? I have been MIA for so long it’s criminal. First I had a few away days with work, which meant when I eventually came back I was way too lazy to start cooking. Then I was busy at 5-7 pm daily, which meant no time to make dinner and bacon having to make me dinner instead. I’ve not cooked for a good few weeks now, so it’s not only bento you see! Bacon even tried making me some bentos when I needed to bring some into work, which was amusing and very nice of him :D.

I am now pretty much back to normal – ish; I am away with work again next week for a few days, and then I leave for the US for Christmas just before mid-December ! Woot! I am going to try to be fairly good with my bento making until I go away for Christmas, but things are looking pretty tight at the moment. With the annoyingly cold weather, the thought of just grabbing soup for lunch actually looks pretty good.

.

bento97c

.

Today’s back-to-bento have been kept pretty simple. It’s one of them ‘reverse leftover’ day, where I cooked dishes suitable for bentos and then proceeded to have the leftovers for dinner. Pretty weird – I only tend to do this when bacon is not having dinner with me. It’s nice to be able to eat whatever you like without thinking of someone else – bacon is not 100% bought into the whole cooking on the fly thing.

.

bento97d

.

I mixed veggies (mushrooms, onions, celery, sugar snap peas, peppers ect) with shrimp and some tom yum paste to turn this into a thai-styled stir fry. A side of rice topped with a polony bear added a simple decoration to this otherwise lazy bento. The smaller layer contains sliced pink lady apple and leftover spicy dry-fried potatoes from a curry puff project I did ages ago and forgot the leftovers in the freezer. This was pretty quick as my rice was a leftover – a good start to my back-to-bento lunches.

.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2010 9:51 pm

    Welcome back! This cold weather totally can totally destroy any and all motivation to get up and make bentos, or even pack them the night before. But, I think this is a great example of how to put together a bento in a simple way. And I love using spicy food in the winter, since it makes you feel warmer, even if it’s served at room temperature! =D

    • November 23, 2010 9:12 am

      Thanks Athena! You’re too kind, as usual!

  2. November 22, 2010 10:09 pm

    Good start indeed! The shrimp look amazing, you made me realize that we don’t eat nearly enough shrimp!

    • November 23, 2010 9:13 am

      Thanks Heather! I love shrimp as I can cook from frozen – definately my go-to whenever I forget to do some defrosting! And it goes with so many things…mm mm good

  3. karaimame permalink
    November 22, 2010 10:15 pm

    How exciting traveling for the holidays! Yohooo!
    Ah! I loved your idea with reverse leftover! My type of reverse leftover is eating everything that doesn´t fit in my daughters´ bento! ahahahah, go figure 😉
    Gorgeous selection of food! Made me hungry….

    • November 23, 2010 9:14 am

      AHAH! I do that too! Sometimes I feel that I pay more attention to bento than the real meal; no soggy food, tastes great room temperature or reheated…heh.

  4. November 23, 2010 12:32 am

    Wow holiday! Start packing now? hahaha … Hope you will have a lot of fun later. Bento looks so tasty and tom yam prawns yumm … Did you make it spicy?

    • November 23, 2010 9:15 am

      Thanks Lia – yes, I made it extra spicy! Love spicy food…and tom yum paste turns anything yummy 🙂

      Speaking of packing, not sure if I want to pack alot or not – it’s going to be Christmas = freezing, but I love shopping in the States! Maybe pack a big blanket 😀

  5. November 23, 2010 4:32 am

    Wow that looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

