Skip to content

Bento 100: Happy 100th Bento Giveaway!!

November 24, 2010

.

bento100a

.

Time flies when you’re having fun – I don’t believe this is my 100th bento! When I started bento-ing earlier in the year, I didn’t know if it was going to last, or was it going to be a phase. What I didn’t realize was that I was going to be joining one of the most supportive, creative, inspirational, fun and friendly community there is; the bento community. The girls that I have met in my bento making journey had made this so enriching, always a kind word of encouragement. It had become more than just talking about bentos; we swap recipes, ideas, life stories and I seemed to have developed a love for all things Hello Kitty.

So thank you girls (you know who you are!) for being there. If only we lived closer to each other !!

.

bento100c
.

Today’s bento contain one of my all-time favourite bento food, mapo tofu with rice. I sprinkled the rice with some sake furikake, and then fashioned a tiered cake out of cheese and polony. I topped it with a candle, and decorated the cake with polony, bits of soba, black sesame, sliced french beans and some edible silver balls. Yep, they are designed for cake deco, and is made out of sugar. Think I’ll take that off before eating it tomorrow :). There is a ‘100’ on the left made of a bit of french bean, polony circles and some sugared snowflake…although it doesn’t look like a 100 in the picture. I covered it all with a sheet of greaseproof paper so that the cake does not stick to my cover. On the left, some of my special dry-cooked mapo tofu (recipe here), a lettuce baran, a peeled clementine and two out of season cherries and some sprouted brocollini.

.

bento100d

.

As this is a very, very special bento post, I am also having a giveaway!!! I have a packet of picks, an cylindrical onigiri maker, a hotdog tulip cutter, a nori punch (smiley face!) and the star of it all, a tamagoyaki pan! It is perfect for a beginner bento-maker or a seasoned one, tamagoyaki pans are quite hard to come by outside of Japan, and all seasoned bento makers are also hoarders of bento-making goodies, so I’m sure you’ll find some use for the onigiri maker and hotdog cutter….heh.

Wanna win?

All you have to do is follow me on twitter. Yep. that’s it. Once you’re following me on twitter, just leave a comment below. If you are already following me on twitter, just leave a comment on this post and you are entered! I will be closing this post on 10th December, giving you plenty of time to follow me & comment! I will try my hardest to post this before Christmas, but as I am leaving for the States on 13th, no guarantees! Happy to post world wide, so as long as you have a postal address, you’re eligible!

.

27 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2010 9:44 pm

    Congrats! I just followed you on twitter, thanks to @graasland. πŸ™‚

  2. November 24, 2010 10:06 pm

    STILL haven’t found a cilindrical onigiri shaper yet >.> it’s a bit too expensive to just buy from Ebay on its own. Oh well, soon I’ll be wholesale buying the lot πŸ˜„

  3. Kirsty Ware permalink
    November 24, 2010 10:22 pm

    i already follow you (obviously as @gazpachodragon!) congratulations, happy bentoversary!

  4. karaimame permalink
    November 24, 2010 10:58 pm

    Yeeeeeeeee! Congratulations mils! So nice IΒ΄ve found you through the bento community! What was it we started to talk about first? Rhubarbs!! Do you remember? πŸ˜€
    Ah.. do I need to tell you that I follow you already? πŸ˜›
    big *smooch* ^_^

  5. dreymer permalink
    November 25, 2010 2:24 am

    WoWoWee… I’ve followed you on twitter for a long time!

  6. November 25, 2010 2:43 am

    Congratulations! πŸ™‚
    I hope that someday I will reach 100 just like you. You are an inspiration! πŸ™‚
    Followed as @patmanasan

  7. November 25, 2010 3:32 am

    Following now! Congrats on your 100th bento!

  8. November 25, 2010 7:59 am

    Wow! Love the grandeur of your cake! Happy 100th! N wish to say thanks to you coz you are those that inspire us beginner bento-ist too!!

  9. November 25, 2010 12:45 pm

    I totes follow you! @georgianafleur

    This looks lovely!

  10. November 26, 2010 3:14 pm

    I LOVE your cake! So cute! I follow you on Twitter! πŸ™‚

  11. November 26, 2010 6:45 pm

    Congrats mils! I am nearing my 100th bento post, too! It’s hard to imagine how quickly this has turned from something I was just curious about, to a full fledged weekly activity and so many great friends along the way. I follow you on Twitter. Happy Holidays!

  12. November 27, 2010 12:57 am

    Happy 100th bento! Such an awesome bento you made for the party…awesome!!

  13. angelene permalink
    November 27, 2010 5:49 am

    I am a follower of your twitter now:)

    @angeleneteo

  14. November 27, 2010 1:40 pm

    I am a twitter follower now πŸ™‚ (@ irisonbooks)

    Congrats on the 100th bento!

  15. November 28, 2010 11:12 am

    Nori punch! nori PUNCH! : D : D

    I’m a twitter follower @icitea!

    congrats on 100 bentos, by the way~

    le.paradis.found at gmail dot com

  16. November 29, 2010 6:40 am

    following you on twitter @cdnexpat08! πŸ™‚

  17. November 29, 2010 7:16 am

    Hiii! Just followed u on twitter. Hope to do my first bento soon. πŸ˜€

  18. Silver Anderson permalink
    November 29, 2010 7:44 am

    Awesome bento supplies! Been following you on twitter for weeks now and loving your tweets!

  19. margaret permalink
    November 29, 2010 8:17 am

    Hi,I’m your twitter follower now^^

  20. Josephine permalink
    November 29, 2010 8:37 pm

    I’ve got a 16 year old daughter who used to eat hot lunch at her highschool. This year she decided to pack bento lunches. Her only request for Christmas is a real bento box. She’d love to have these goodies to play with. Thank you!

  21. Angelina permalink
    November 30, 2010 5:16 pm

    I am following you on twitter! Thanks!

  22. Anna permalink
    December 5, 2010 7:51 pm

    Following you on twitter now!

  23. Jessica permalink
    December 7, 2010 3:27 am

    Have followed you on twitter πŸ˜€

  24. December 9, 2010 2:40 am

    I already follow you on Twitter. I would love to win that tamagoyaki pan!
    Have fun on your trip.

  25. December 9, 2010 6:00 pm

    yay! following you on twitter now! the more bento makers I have to learn along with, the better! πŸ˜€

  26. December 10, 2010 4:52 am

    Love those nori punches! Don’t have one yet, though.

Trackbacks

  1. Bento 104: Picnic snack « not a brown bag

Leave a Reply

