Skip to content

Bento 101: The TwitterFoodParty pancake bento!

November 29, 2010

bento101a

.

Yep, it’s that time of the month again! Every last weekend the girls on twitter get together and ‘cook’. No, we don’t actually mean cook together – although that would be wonderful, I think the fact that we’re all over the world would be quite prohibitive to that sort of activity. Every month we get together and cook variations on the same theme – so far we had done taco (mine in a bento here), noodles (mine in a bento here) and a special sushi edition (mine is here). It is so much fun to see everyone’s different interpretation of the same menu item, and I learn so much. Who would have thought a single meal can be made in so many different ways?

.

bento101b

.

For this month’s submission, I am doing Kimchi Jeon! It is basically a kimchi version of the pajeon that I had made previously – replacing the chives with chopped up kimchi, kimchi ‘juice’, some gochujang and finely diced onions. It takes 5 minutes to prepare, 2 minutes on a hot pan on the hob and a further 3 minutes under the grill. Quick and easy, this is a perfect snack for sharing!

.

bento101c

.

I cut my kimchi jeon into rectangles to fit into my bento box, trimming off all the edges so I get to snack on it as well. Perfect light snack for mid-afternoon :). On top of that is some leftover sliced roast chicken breast for protein. Cucumber slices and lettuce makes excellent companion to the salty kimchi jeon, I pick mine up with a lettuce leaf and some cucumer slices between the jeon. A small peeled clementine rounds my simple snacky lunch off….I set aside a miso ball for me to turn into miso soup in case I am still hungry after this. The whole thing (due to lack of any deco at all) took me 5 minutes, so in total; including cooking time for the jeon, this took me all of 15 minutes! Yay for speed bento!

It is not exactly a perfect bento, there are no vibrant colours; all the colours of the food sort of blended into each other. My fridge is pretty empty at the moment, sorry about that. It would have looked better with a couple of toms or berries. Maybe I should do a no-yellow bento next to make up for the lack of colour varierty 🙂

.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2010 8:45 pm

    I love it mils! I think that it is more colorful than you think. The chicken slices on top of the kimchi jeon looks very nice and I love the sesame seed details on the cuke.

    • November 30, 2010 11:00 am

      Thanks Michelle! I thought the pancake would be red enough to show the contrast…but apparently not!

  2. November 29, 2010 9:10 pm

    Ooh, I like the pan shot! I would love this for dinner; yummy!

    • November 30, 2010 10:59 am

      I think I can just have jeon for lunch, breakfast, dinner, snacks…..

  3. karaimame permalink
    November 29, 2010 9:43 pm

    yes! I want for my dinner too, please! ^_^
    So good looking… :9

  4. November 30, 2010 2:11 am

    Me three! I used to gobble these up when my mom made them, the spicier the better!

  5. November 30, 2010 11:00 am

    So, me four! This is one of my favorite Mils! Kimchi Jeon is perfect choice 🙂

Leave a Reply

