Skip to content

Bento 102: Fried rice bunnies

November 30, 2010

bento102a

.

Fried rice makes an awesome staple for bentos. Leftover rice can be easily transformed into another delicious and tasty meal that is totally different from the initial incarnation of plain white rice. Oil, seasonings, egg , veggies and bits of meat turns plain white rice into a one-dish wholesome meal. It is good eaten cold or hot – so you can have it your way. I keep coming back to fried rice whenever I had cooked too much rice for dinner the day before. This was from the weekend; bacon overcooked rice and it’s been sat in the fridge for a few days. Which is even better for fried rice, as it needs to dry out slightly in order to be turned into fried rice.

.
bento102b

.

Today’s bento consist of a portion of fried rice which I included sliced polony, sweetcorn and fresh beans. I fashioned a baran out of lettuce, popped in a couple of cherry toms on top of baby spinach leaves and a clementine held in by some steamed brocollini and cucumber. The slightly pink/purple strips between my tomatoes are shizabuke; Japanese eggplant pickle. I cut two bunnies from polony and placed them on top of a shred of spinach leaf for contrast.

Inclusive of cooking time, this bento took a total of 20 minutes to prep, cook and pack. Not only that, I also used the fried rice as dinner – two meals in one = score! Word of warning – make sure that the bento has fully cooled down before packing it away!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2010 10:20 pm

    I love the bright colors of the fresh vegetables in bentos. Always makes it look more awesome, even though as it gets colder cooked food that can be reheated gets increasingly appealing. I also do the transformation to fried rice when I’ve made too much rice for dinner+two bentos. I think it breaks up the possible monotony.

    I’ve also done the edible dividers before, but I ended up with the inevitable problem that the dividers (often lettuce, though I’ve tried other like strips of carrots) never seemed appealing to eat as part of the bento. Here, you could probably use the lettuce to wrap the fried rice, but with plain rice I’m not sure it would work. Do you have any suggestions?

    • December 3, 2010 5:11 pm

      I sometimes eat my lettuce with tomatoes separately as a salad, but most of the time I use it to scoop up my other foodstuff or dip it. Strips of carrots & cucumber makes ace dividers, and if you can pop in a small pot of hummus, even better! A dip starter and a main dish!

      • December 6, 2010 9:21 pm

        Hmm, thanks! I think that adding in the dip thing might be the easiest way to get around the “is it enough for a salad?” problem that I keep running into. Besides, just lettuce+dressing isn’t enough, but…lettuce and something like hummus or a raw food veggie dip could probably solve that. =D

  2. Christie Fremon permalink
    November 30, 2010 10:40 pm

    Mils, this is way cute! πŸ˜€

  3. December 1, 2010 10:45 am

    Yummy food, colorful and cute too! Can’t ask for more. I am very curious about polony and google up for some information about it. You only can get that in England?

    • December 3, 2010 5:13 pm

      I am not sure Lia, it is called ‘slicable sausage’ – basically cooked ham in a sausage shape. You can eat it cooked or uncooked, and I use it often as a deco.

      I find it very soft, what I imagined fish sausage would be. I had major issues finding fish sausage here, and polony is a perfect texture as a replacement πŸ™‚

  4. December 1, 2010 11:57 am

    Speedy and delicious! You’re making me crave fried rice!

    • December 3, 2010 5:14 pm

      Yummy and quick, fried rice always saves the day πŸ™‚

  5. December 1, 2010 1:12 pm

    I’ll happily go for 2 meals in one πŸ™‚ I agree with Athena, the fresh colors of your bento make it pop – that is one of the best things I’ve found since beginning to use them in lunches. Plus, fried rice is so versatile, with just that one base, it can go in so many directions.

    • December 3, 2010 5:15 pm

      Yes it is suprising how easy it is to add colour to a mundane dish – fresh tomatoes or some pickles really go a long way!

  6. December 5, 2010 7:36 am

    Yummy! I love fried rice and the bunnies are cute! Beautiful bento! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

