Skip to content

Bento 103: The morning-after bento

December 6, 2010

Ever feel like you’re rushed off your feet? Well, I was. After a weekend meeting up with family, looking at tv tables , attending a cooking demo, getting a facial and more; I was completely wiped out by Sunday night. So wiped out that I chanced making my bento on Monday morning instead of the night before. And as usual, Monday morning was a massive rush due to me not being able to get up.

I had grand plans of making a snowman to top my rice ect…failing which, I was going to fall back on my old trick of smiley faces on cherry tomatoes. I managed one nori eye….before bacon started mumbling impatiently as he was taking me to work. Sigh. Oh well. I slapped the cover on and hopped into the car with my non-cute bento.

.

.

As you can tell, I was in such a rush that I took this picture on my desk at work with my iPhone instead of a normal camera like I usually do. So apologies for the horrendous picture, lighting was far from good at work. In the bento was some chinese roast chicken, rice cooked in chicken stock, a cling-film pot of home made chilli sauce and some steamed brocollini. Three tomatoes top the rice – faceless. Not the most interesting of lunches, but I love, absolutely LOVE roast chicken & rice. Or fried chicken & rice. Or teri chicken & rice. Any chicken with rice is fabulous :).

Plus point? This bento took me a total of 2 minutes flat to assemble. Speed bento reinvented. How excellent is that? Proves that you can eat well even with extremely limited time for prep. You may not have the cutest of lunch, but at least it’s home made, nutritious and yummy – colleagues gathered around ooh-ing and aaah-ing ๐Ÿ™‚

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2010 11:03 pm

    So true; it looks delish and that’s what counts. The nori eye survives! The rest have rolled over back to sleep. I make plenty of this kind of bento on Sundays!

  2. December 7, 2010 2:23 am

    Yay, for the speedy bento! It looks delish!

  3. December 7, 2010 12:53 pm

    Absolutely, sometimes just getting in a healthy meal is the goal, not thinking about the “cute” or aesthetic factor. Besides, if it tastes good, well, that’s the thing, right?

  4. December 7, 2010 2:35 pm

    It looks hearty, delicious and great even without faces! Love the cling wrap, that’s a really good practical idea ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. December 8, 2010 12:10 pm

    I always have faceless tomatoes! Lol! Still looks super tasty and nutritious though ๐Ÿ™‚ Here’s hoping for a calm week ahead.

Leave a Reply

