Skip to content

Bento 104: Picnic snack

December 8, 2010

I came home starving today, and decided there was enough time for a snack before bacon came back and made dinner. My pantry and fridge have been running low recently, and I wasn’t keen to stock up on more seeing that I would be away from next tuesday. Scraping the bottom of the barrel, I cracked open a bottle of my home made caramelised red onion chutney that I made a few months ago. The flavours have now fully developed, the savory-sweet chutney coming to life. I love this with some strong cheese on a cracker or oatcake, mm mm good. We have no more cheese, so I cracked open the bottle of the pickled herring that I got from IKEA a while ago. A futher look-see produced some oatcakes and breadsticks. Ah. Picnic sorted!

I enjoyed my snack so much that I based my bento for tomorrow around it. I had run out of eggs, cheese and ham, and was unable to do any cutouts to decorate the bento 😦 . Oh well. I’m sure I’ll enjoy this picnic irregardless of the non-cute-ness.

.

bento104

.

I lined the box with baby spinach leaves, and two silicon cups contain more of the pickled herring and home made red onion chutney. I popped in the remainder of the cherry tomatoes, yellow peppers and celery stick. The oatcakes on the left are just for show really; I packed them away on the cutlery layer.

I have two more work-days left before leaving for New York, and I really can’t wait to be away. I have lost all interest with work, but am still so busy at work. A snacking bento is perfect for times like this when I am going to be nibbling all day long. Here’s hoping for a fabulous Christmas in New York!

P.S: If you have yet to enter my 100th Bento giveaway, please do!

.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2010 10:33 am

    Red onion chutney, yum. I know the feeling of needing to get away and yet still being so busy… hope the New York trip comes quickly for you!

  2. December 10, 2010 8:44 am

    You don’t need any cute decoration as the well-balanced colourful bento by itself already look so good!

Leave a Reply

