Skip to content

Bento 105: Inflight bento

December 13, 2010

I love inflight bentos. They are a fantastic antidote to usually blah food served up by the airlines. One time, I even got served a box of foor that was unidentifiable. It contained a variety of ‘snacks’ but I was unable to place what they were. Ugh. Then there was the time when I flew with Continental and got a pile of iceberg with a cherry tomato and an olive. And that was pretty much it. Very imaginative.

So for my flight to Newark tomorrow way too early in the am, I am prepping a bento again. Bacon offered to make us breakfast before we leave tomorrow, and we are having Mcdonalds during our stopover in Amsterdam (it’s a tradition) so I only needed a snack to tide me over until we land. Bacon did not want a bento but I knew he would want to snack on my meatballs, so this bento is pretty protein heavy. I actually boiled an egg to make tasty miso eggs – and only remembered it after I had already taken this picture. Ugh. That sucks. Oh well, that boiled egg went into my dinner.

.

bento105

.

Other bits and scraps form this bento – literally whatever that is left in my fridge. I wanted it to be finger-food friendly, thus left out foods that require anything more than a pick. I had 1/2 a yellow bell pepper cut into slices, and cubed peppers speared on top of my previously frozen home made meatballs. I made two mini onigiris premixed with furikake, wrapped in cling film to enable easy holding. Some parsley & two cherry tomatoes add color to the bento (even though the tomatoes are probably past their best!). I capped this bento off with two mini packs of trail mix that I put together with the variety of nuts & dried fruits in the pantry, figuring that bacon would probably want a pack as well.

Here’s hoping for a fairly uneventful flight…and see you all across the pond soon! Blogging will probably be light , but I will be chattering away on twitter so make sure you follow me. I am hoping to get some bento sightseeing done as well – woo!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2010 9:40 pm

    That’s a great travel bento! So much healthier than airline food 😀 Have a safe and wonderful trip!

  2. December 13, 2010 10:04 pm

    I agree–that’s a really great travel bento, especially considering that you don’t need it as necessarily a “full lunch” but an inflight snack. =D With all these regulations here in the States, I’ve never even attempted to bring a bento with me (though, in general I don’t eat during flight anyway, unless it’s going to be longer than 8 hours). But, now I feel I really should look into it, and see if there’s a way to pull it off after all. Good luck with your traveling! I hope for very boring flights for you! =D

  3. December 13, 2010 11:15 pm

    Very nice inflight bento! Other passengers will envy you hehehe … Have a nice flight and enjoy your trip! Don’t forget to hunt down some bento stuffs 😀 Catch up with you on twitter later 🙂

  4. December 14, 2010 12:17 pm

    Land safely and have a great trip! I love your in-flight bento! I’d rather eat that than airplane food any day 🙂

  5. December 14, 2010 12:21 pm

    I like the travel bento. The airlines here that I flew on a month ago didn’t allow carry-on food, you’re a lucky one to get a good meal during travels 🙂

Leave a Reply

