Skip to content

Bento 106: Happy 2011! A bento & new goodies

January 3, 2011

Whoa. It’s been nearly a month since I made a bento, nearly a month since I made a bento. I’m now back from the US after two and a bit weeks. I’ve only been into work one day since – well, 1/2 day. My excesses over the holiday period in the land of gigantic portions had taken a toll on me, and I really need to return to the daily toil of right-sized and happy lunches.

Whilst I was in the US, I got a suprise bento care package from my bff! She went on a spree in Daiso and got me loaaaads! Apologies for the light, as it was taken in a hotel room without access to lamps ect. Had to unpack it all to bring it back in my luggage, but took a picture of it all before.

.

IMG_7632

.

One of the items in my goody bag was this magical round box (MSB); somehow round boxes just makes everything look better presented. This is a small one; around 460ml. I am hoping that I will eventually fall into the habit of living with a smaller box, my usual boxes are at 550ml-ish. The three separate sections (removable) also help in ensuring that I get a good porportion of the nutrients I need. It is also microwavable, which is a big plus for me as I like hot lunches. I can also microwave the sections separately, which is another plus! It is not the cutest box out there by a long shot, but VERY practical.

.

bento106

.

I have yet to have a well stocked bento friendly pantry, thus lacking lettuce leaves & tomatoes that I usually have in stock. Tomorrow’s bento contain leftovers from the delayed Christmas dinners with the outlaws. One section contained a tiny portion of soba-edamame-beef slices salad dressed with mirin/soy/sesame/rice wine vineger. I need to get more greens in my diet, so another portion contain leftover sauteed cavalo nero (black cabbage), a sprout and some roast carrot flowers. Third section was reserved for a mix of blueberries & clementine :). I am probably going to be starving as I am no longer used to tiny lunches (read: porportionate) , but hopefully it will all go back to normal soon!

Other than the fruits, these were all leftovers, which are excellent for packing into a bento. There are always leftovers when bacon makes a roast dinner, and having them in a bento is an easy and convenient way to polish off those leftovers πŸ™‚
.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2011 8:10 pm

    Hi there, thanks for posting! Any idea where we can get that little MRB with the 3 sections? I tried Googling it various ways but no luck. Thanks!

    • January 3, 2011 9:26 pm

      Hi Suzanne

      Mine came from Daiso; you can probably find different variations on the box, but the ones from Daiso tend to be appropriately sized for bento – not to mention pretty cheap πŸ™‚

  2. karaimame permalink
    January 3, 2011 10:19 pm

    Aw, so cute round bento! And superb bento loot! ^_^ , the little cutters are so lovely! By reading your post you just made me remind I have almost _nothing_ to make a bento! No lettuce… no small tomatoes… Yuck! Must fix the situation soon!
    Have a great year Mils!

  3. January 4, 2011 5:52 am

    Yay for Daiso and MRB! Our Daiso doesn’t carry this style. I must go and complain. πŸ™‚

  4. January 4, 2011 9:46 am

    Nice bento! Too bad I can’t find any MRB in our Daiso too!

  5. January 4, 2011 1:42 pm

    I love that bento πŸ™‚ I wish I could buy it here in Holland.

  6. dreymer permalink
    January 20, 2011 2:36 pm

    I didn’t know that MRBs are such hot stuffs… and I didn’t know about the volume as well! I just saw the round one with sections and got it!

Trackbacks

  1. Bento 108: New Eco Lunchbox « not a brown bag

Leave a Reply

