Skip to content

Bento 107: Scary Bunnies

January 6, 2011

I have been hankering to use one of my new cutters from the bunch that dreymer got me for christmas. I have bunny cutters, but this one just seemed cuter than mine! I usually use nori cutouts for facial features, but thought I would do something different this time and cut out the features instead from the teensy cutters. Unfortunately for me, it ends up looking pretty creepy…looking like something from a nightmare before Christmas.

So here it is, my first bunny bento to join the legion of bunnies in conjunction with the Japanese New Year & upcoming Chinese New Year – and if you can’t tell yet, it’s the year of the Rabbit; bacon’s year!

.

bento107

.

This bento contains some very diet-friendly food – stirfried shirataki noodles! These miracle noodles are a lifesaver for dieters all around the world, being very low in calories compared to regular noodles. I simmered it in some soy sauce to make the noodles tastier (it is completely tasteless by itself), and then stirfried it with some calvolo nero (black cabbage), leftover turkey slices, sweetcorn, diced carrots & celery. A splash of soy sauce adds flavour, and if I had eggs, would have scrambled one in as well. Eaten with two oranges and an apple as a snack, this sustained me until dinner time pretty well. I am looking forward to cooking shirataki differently – I had always loved shirataki/konnyaku, but it had only become widely available in the UK recently. Only taking a total of 15 mins, this is a speed bento as well, a great return to packing bentos again for 2011.

.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2011 9:02 pm

    Haha, you know, they’re still cute. They look like they’d be great friends to my screaming bunnies: http://www.aibento.net/2010/01/27/the-untimely-demise-of-charaben/

Trackbacks

  1. Scary Bunnies Bento – Bento Central

Leave a Reply

