Skip to content

Bento 109: Apple Radish on pasta salad

January 17, 2011

.

bento109H

.

This was the bento that nearly wasn’t. I made some creamy pasta for dinner using low fat creme fraiche, sauteed mushrooms, onions, peas and diced lean smoked gammon (bacon chops). This is one of my favourite weekday dinner; from wok (I cook most things in a wok!) to plate in under 30 minutes. What I usually do is dump this in a container and reheat it up in the microwave at work. When I went into the kitchen after my bath to get going with my bento (having no idea what was I going to make); I spotted the leftover pot of pasta on the stove – Monday is football day for the hubs and he eats his dinner when he gets back around 9ish. I tasted the pot of pasta which had gone cold…and it tasted pretty good to me! No need to add anything else except a generous twist of the pepper grinder.

So tomorrow’s lunch consists of the best type of food; leftovers! It took me 20 minutes to put this together – because I thought it might be clever to snap a step by step pictorial. Huh. I missed some steps, but I think I mostly have it all together. Bentos can be easy, cute and very fun – there are no need for a large collection of cutters – I just seem to be addicted to bits of plastic.

.

bento109abento109bbento109dbento109ebento109fbento109I

.

1) Arrange lettuce leaves to make a ‘bowl’
2) Put in pasta salad, and top with two half of a radish & 3/4 of another radish
3) Fold two wafer thin ham and cut strips – be sure to leave a 1/2 inch gap on each end
4) Arrange more lettuce leaves to make a corner for the ham blossoms, and two halves of a tomato. Arrange toasted sesame seeds on the radishes
5) In the remaining bottom-left corner, pop in a small peeled clementine, and top with a radish with a carved smiley face. Fill spaces with steamed sugar snap pea pods.
6) Done! Top with food picks – I used two ‘leaf’ picks, a giant heart pick and a small crown on the smiley radish.

.

I love turning wafer thin hams into blossoms – they always look so pretty and add a splash of color as my ham is pretty pink. I have made them numerous times, and if you need further instructions, Debra has a great tutorial here. I first saw the radish apples in one of Sheri‘s wonderful bentos – they looks so pretty, and just an all-round wonderful touch to a pretty normal bento. And I carved my way through eggs, oranges and radishes in October for Halloween . Radish faces do not come out very well in photos and look much better in real life – and being so hard, they are perfect for carving.

.

All packed in one of my favourite box from Paperchase πŸ™‚

bento109g

.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2011 10:54 pm

    Nice pictures on how you arrange your bento! Looks so yummy and your radish apples add the cuteness for this bento. I use wok almost everyday in the kitchen too. It is one of the main kitchen equipments for me πŸ™‚

    • January 18, 2011 5:45 pm

      Thanks Lia! Yeah, wok & cleaver everyday..you can take the chinese out of china but…

      Hehe 

  2. January 18, 2011 9:37 am

    This looks really colorful! Pasta is one of my fave things to put in my bento as well πŸ™‚

  3. January 18, 2011 1:39 pm

    Hey that is super cute! And that pasta dish is making me really hungry. I love bacon with mushrooms in pasta, reminds me of my absolute fave sauce: Gigi! Great bento.. : )

  4. January 18, 2011 5:32 pm

    You know what’s funny is I don’t think I know what a radish tastes like. Now I”m curious enough to go buy some!

    • January 18, 2011 5:48 pm

      Its like daikon & arugala got married and reproduced; very crunchy & peppery πŸ™‚

  5. January 18, 2011 9:35 pm

    those apple radishes are so cute!

  6. January 19, 2011 8:06 am

    I love the step-by-step! It’s a great way of demonstrating how to pack the bento. And those radish apples look great. =D

  7. dreymer permalink
    January 20, 2011 2:30 pm

    So cute the radishes!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Apple Radish Bento – Bento Central

Leave a Reply

