Skip to content

Bento 112: Miso Butter Veggies & Fried Rice

January 24, 2011

I made a massive batch of fried rice on Sunday night, using up all my leftover bits and pieces i.e. sausages & fishcakes. This resulted in a batch of fried rice that was too big for my wok – ooops. I swear that the woks sold in western countries are just not big enough. In case you’re wondering; mine’s 30inches, not the puny 12 inch ‘personal wok’. What is a personal wok anyway? Sounds ‘decorative’ to me!

Anyway, there is no guessing what tomorrow’s bento lunch consist of – the leftover exordinaire – fried rice. I made my with tomyum paste, turning it into a thai-styled spicy fried rice. It is not really the most nutritionally complete of meals due to the amount of carbs in it; so I made a side of beans to go with it. To jazz boring beans up, I whipped up something I got from the momofuku cookbook (I am a total momofuku fangrrl) – the miso butter. This is just as simple as whipping up shiro miso with unsalted butter – what can be easier?? Toss with steamed veggies and voila! I just left mine as a blob on top as I’ll be microwaving it.The momofuku book notes that mixed in with a little wobbly egg, it tastes like carbonara, with the miso standing in for pig. It also tastes fabulous as miso butter ramen with loads of canned sweetcorn. I so need to try miso butter pasta! I am also going to try some walnut miso and kimchi butter….but seriously, you MUST try mixing in some miso with butter – I licked my spoon clean.

.

bento112

.

I added in some lychees, plum tomatoes & radishes for color. Those will be removed (with the baran) before I nuke this in the microwave tomorrow. Topping the plain fried rice is some simple bunny shapes (yup, totally year of the rabbit crazy now) and voila; a bento is made! From whipping up the miso butter to cooking the beans and packing the bento, it took 15 minutes; pretty speedy eh? I spent longer thinking about which bunny shape I want to make rather than the packing/cooking itself. Heh.

.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2011 9:34 pm

    I really need to give radishes a try already. They’re really pretty in your bentos!

    • January 25, 2011 9:36 pm

      thanks pikko! I like the crunch & spiciness as well – can’t wait to see your radish!

  2. January 25, 2011 12:54 am

    You have lychee? So jealous! Can’t wait for summer… Miso butter ramen with sweet corn sounds like just what I need right now. Your bento was delish I’m sure!

    • January 25, 2011 9:37 pm

      I always thought that lychees are winter fruits? No idea, they always makes an appearance around Chinese New Year, but I’ve never seen a lychee tree before!

      • January 25, 2011 10:07 pm

        Ours are totally summer fruits, and peak only for a few weeks at that. 😦

      • January 25, 2011 10:12 pm

        Really? No idea where the lychees are imported from – think its China? But its winter there as well..hmm

  3. maggie permalink
    January 25, 2011 5:16 am

    good work kai ma!! can come here and make for el el?

    • January 25, 2011 9:37 pm

      lols – aherm; his mom can make him a bento as well….if she can get over the laziness..hahaha! I’m sure he’ll love the bunnies…

  4. January 25, 2011 11:40 am

    Lychee?? Oh! I hope we get some again this year. This bento looks delicious! I have a pack of shiro miso in the fridge, thank you for all of the ideas of how to use it!

    • January 25, 2011 9:38 pm

      Do let me know what you think of miso butter – it melted perfectly over my veggies in the microwave and imparts such superior flavour. I love it!

  5. January 26, 2011 8:18 pm

    Walnut miso is great. I have tried the recipe from JustBento but added more liquids. We use it with raw vegetables too (cellery stalks, pepper stripes, carrot). Just try it.

Leave a Reply

