Skip to content

Bento 114: Happy Australia Day!

January 26, 2011

.

bento114b

.

This bento have been nearly a year coming. Last year when I was in Australia, I purchased a packet of Australian flag picks with the fab idea of using it in a bento. I had not touched it since I purchased it, but I have not forgotted about it. Lying at the bottom of my bento gear drawers, it stayed there, unloved, lonely and unopened. However, I knew in my heart that I wanted to commemorate Australia Day (26th Jan every year is Australia’s National Day) with a bento – and here it is!

Today’s bento is built around the koala, those sleepy marsupials from Down Under. They are not exactly sleepy, although they may always seem sleepy – it’s not their fault they’re nocturnal! It is unfortunate that for some strange reason my koala does not look like the one on my pick above. Huh. I don’t know why – maybe it’s because I did not use black for it’s nose? I should have probably used nori for the nose, but I had some polony left over and thought it best I used it up.

.

bento114a

.

I have in my bento tomorrow some sliced hot smoked peppered saba (mackerel), brocolli florets, radishes, strawberries and yellow tomatoes. Hot smoked saba looks something like this ; very tasty and easy to pair with rice. It is also an easy way to get some protein in your bentos without any cooking. Yes, I know it’s not a very ‘Australian’ meal, but FISH is very big in Australia (cheap, fresh and delicious) and because of that, Australians are also MASSIVE on sushi and similar food. I see onigiris, makis and nigiris on sale everywhere in Australia, from the markets to convenience stores and small takeaway stores. I love nothing more than to munch on a whole uncut maki roll whilst sightseeing. Love it 🙂

And Happy Australia Day my Australian friends!

.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2011 9:06 pm

    That is so awesomely cute!! Happy Australia day to everyone!

  2. January 27, 2011 9:46 am

    Even without a black nose it still looks cute. Very nice bento.

  3. January 27, 2011 5:00 pm

    Happy Australia Day!! I think your koala is adorable!

  4. January 28, 2011 12:51 am

    The Koala Bear is really really nice! Love it!

  5. maggie permalink
    January 30, 2011 9:58 pm

    is the koala made of tomato?. if so, how!!! hahaha
    i have been wanting to ask you how u eat those raddish? just raw? do u need to cook them?

    • January 31, 2011 7:09 pm

      Yeah you can eat the radish raw, its very crunchy and tastes peppery – as for the red tomatoes, its made out of PLASTIC – hehehe…therefore inedible.

  6. February 2, 2011 1:47 am

    That koala onigiri is even cuter than the koala pick!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Bento 114: Happy Australia Day! « not a brown bag -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

