Skip to content

Bento 118: SPAM hinomaru

February 20, 2011

bento118a

Sundays should in theory be the day where I make my best bentos – having no time restrictions and all afternoon to tinker in the kitchen. Unfortunately, I am partial to the Sunday Afternoon Nap diesease; which greatly minimizes cooking time. I made an effort to be better today, and had it planned in my head to make some pickles momofuku styled and steamed veggies and chicken pieces. However, I had not realised that my fridge have been completely depleted – I had a couple leaves of lettuce and bok choy left – and not much else. Gah. Why did I do this so myself? We were out at the farmers’ market earlier in the day as well…what was I thinking? Obviously not much!

So I had to be clever, and out came a can of SPAM light. I love panfried SPAM slices with white rice – absolutely adore it. It is like a deconstructed SPAM musubi, but without the teri sauce glaze. I love SPAM musubi as well….or SPAM sandwich, deep-fried SPAM…you get my drift. I try to always have eggs, so a tamagoyaki was in order, and the rest of the bok choy went into a quick stirfry. An ume was added for the hinomaru look – ume is a love-it-or-hate-it, and I love it! As the Eco Lunchbox (yay stainless steel!) was pretty deep, my mini-apple fits into it without any further hacking off at the bottom.

.

bento118c

Stainless steel makes everything looks better :).

.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2011 11:15 am

    Mils, this bento is so beautiful! The picture too … Looks so elegant! We love use SPAM too in our home cooking. Even sometimes just dip it to the egg mixture and pan fried it for breakfast with hot steamed rice πŸ™‚

    • February 21, 2011 8:42 pm

      Aw thanks Lia – I like SPAM dipped in egg and panfried as well – such a perfect accompaniment to hot steamed rice.

  2. February 21, 2011 11:21 am

    It looks fantastic! I’m a little scared of SPAM but this is making me reconsider…… looks yum!

    • February 21, 2011 8:41 pm

      Thanks Heather! I think like most things, SPAM is good for your soul in moderation πŸ™‚

      And ever so delicious…mmm

  3. karaimame permalink
    February 21, 2011 3:40 pm

    Hinomaru bento is my favorite. It belongs to that category of food that canΒ΄t get any better, as simple as it is.
    Good addition with the spam! And the box… gorgeous! Your photograph is also amazing ^__^

    • February 21, 2011 8:38 pm

      I agree . Hinomaru brings the best out of two very simple ingredients – ume & plain white rice cooked well. The flavour contrast is outstanding.

      Aww…thanks for that :).

  4. February 21, 2011 4:11 pm

    Industrious and nicely delicious-looking! Love the Eco too!

    • February 21, 2011 8:34 pm

      Thanks Sheri – stainless steel lovers unite!!

  5. February 21, 2011 7:09 pm

    Looks delish, but what kind of apple is that? I have only had lady apples and they’re all mostly green+red.

    • February 21, 2011 8:34 pm

      I don’t think it’s a lady apple – we don’t get that out there. I’ll check for you (think its a braeburn) , but another baby variety is the Jaz apple – very delicious and nice colour.

      will let you know pikko!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Bento 118: SPAM hinomaru Β« not a brown bag -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

