Skip to content

Bento 121: Potato salad & Ribs

February 23, 2011

.

bento121g

.

Did I hear leftovers?? Woohoo! I am fast becoming the queen of leftovers, and this was what I had for dinner today. Over the weekend , we went to a local farmer’s market and picked up some bits and bobs. One of it was two packs of ribs, premarinaded and only costing £1 each pack! There was more than enough for us to have for dinner and for me to pack a handful of ribs for tomorrow’s bento.

In my bento, there are some Japanese-styled potato salad, barbequed ribs, 1/2 nectarine and a mini clementine. I love Japanese-styled potato salad – I make mine with thinly sliced radish to give it crunch & heat, potatoes, carrots, spring onions and QP mayo. It goes very well with the lettuce as well, making it into a rounded salad.

.

bento121f

.

Today’s bento feature my lovely ecolunchbox again – I am starting to get used to depth of it now. I tend not to pack fruits with my bentos as I have free fruits as work. However, it usually runs out by Wednesday – and the ecolunchbox is PERFECT for popping in a mini clementine or apple. The depth also helps in keeping the fruit whole rather than having the hack the bottom off, or slice it. I really need to get myself a LunchBots Trio Stainless Steel Snack Container; would be quite cool to pack with predivided containers.

.

.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2011 10:13 pm

    Very pretty bento! I love the little flowers on the potato salad 🙂

    • February 24, 2011 7:49 am

      Thanks N! I thought it needed a small touch of prettyness….altho I did go overboard and covered all the potato salad with carrot flowers…opps!

  2. February 24, 2011 4:52 am

    This one looks great! Filled with lots of tasty yummies.
    Cute paper too!

    • February 24, 2011 7:51 am

      Thanks Sheri! I tend not to use paper (my bentos usually have wet bottoms…ooops!) – tea towels works better for me as I can ‘dry’ the wet bottoms off as well.

      Its cute huh! I like it too – just recently I have been receiving teatowels for presents – got three for Christmas and one for Valentine’s day! Maybe I look like a tea towel sort of person..lols

      • February 25, 2011 1:16 am

        Tea towels is a perfect solution. I never look at them since I never use them but I guess I should. Nice compact size too!

      • February 27, 2011 3:29 pm

        Me neither, but they are perfect as props! It’s much larger than paper and flexible as well, which helps as I’m pretty clumsy :).

  3. February 24, 2011 12:12 pm

    Yummy! The ribs look wonderful! I have a hard time packing deep bentos, I really like how you’ve done this one.

    • February 24, 2011 1:38 pm

      Thanks Heather! Yes, deep bentos takes a little time to get used to, but now that I am; I’m in love!!

  4. dreymer permalink
    February 25, 2011 11:22 am

    Eeek! I like your table cloth!

    • February 27, 2011 3:29 pm

      meow!! I have another one with larger cats 🙂

Leave a Reply

