Skip to content

The #twitterfoodparty Cakookie!!

February 28, 2011

.

cakie5

Every month a bunch of us over at twitter pick a food item and cook/eat/shoot it together on a Monday. It is a whole load of fun to see all the excitingly delicious and creative use of inggredient – and I always make sure that I participate if I am around. I think I missed last month’s as I was laid in bed sick as a dog, but this month it was a source of inspiration.

I have been on a crazy spate of cooking and recipe-developing recently….I have no doubt that it will stop as soon as I no longer fit in my jeans – all this FOOD is not exactly good for the ole waistline!!!! Either that or I’ll be running out of inspiration pretty soon. Coupled with bacon being on a crazy cooking spree, we are in serious need to cut down ; so by the time you’ve read this, some of the ‘cookies’ had already winged their way to family & friends.

Whilst browsing the interweb last week, I came across the crazy notion of pizookie. Invented by a restaurant from Santa Ana, CA, BJ’s have been making pizookies addicts for a long time. It is essentially a cookie – shaped like a pizza!! I had certainly not heard of it before. I guess the boring description would be a deep dish cookie. They bake it into a flat ramekin that looks pretty big (5 inches across?) and it is served with ice cream. Mmmm….yummy, but the size is slightly too big to be a personal serving. Not quite personal pizza 🙂

I came up with my own take on the pizookie – I changed it slightly and it turned into a cakookie. Lols. Using a simple cake-like base, the cookie still has the chewy crispy cookie top, whilst in the middle it taste slightly like a chocolate chip cake. Mmm…I likey. I used smaller ramekins, not only because they were the only ones I had, but it was probably for the best portion-wise. The best part about this was? Leaving it overnight hardened the cakookie up wonderfully;taking on the lovely chewy texture of a traditional cookie. WoohoO! Just heat in the microwave for a minute, and a scoop of vanilla ice cream. And maybe a sprinkle of nuts. Or chocolate sauce. YUM.

cakie7

.

    Cakookie

100g / 3.5 oz/ 0.8 stick of butter (room temperature)
100 g/ 1 cup plain flour, unsifted
1 egg
100g/ 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
1/2 tbs baking soda/sodium bicarbonate
1/2 tsp vanilla essence

60g/ 2 oz chocolate chips
60g/ 2 oz pecans, chopped
6 pecans, whole

.

Crank the oven up to 180-200C / 350-400F
Cream sugar and butter until pale (and yummy 🙂 )
Add egg and vanilla and continue beating until well mixed
In batches, slowly add in the baking soda and flour, scraping the sides of the bowl as you go.
The batter should now be scoopable. There should be enough batter for 8 regular -sized ramekins. Do not overfill, you can fill up to 1/2 or 2/3 of the ramekins. Filling it up to 1/2 will allow enough headspace for a scoop of ice cream. mmm..

.

Want to join us? Check us out on twitter!!

.

cakie3

One Comment leave one →
  1. dreymer permalink
    March 1, 2011 3:07 pm

    Nice pics!

Leave a Reply

