Skip to content

Bento 123: Hinamatsuri Bento!!

March 2, 2011

.

bento123b

.

Seeing that tomorrow is is Hinamatsuri, it is only appropriate that the bento girls celebrate it with a variety of pretty and girly bentos! Hinamatsuri is ‘Girls’ Day’ (or ‘Doll’s Day) in Japan, where girls are celebrated. I read somewhere that it is customary for girls to give little tokens to their girl friends on that day, like writing paper or mini dolls. Of course the bento makers celebrate with making girly bentos!! Just check out my bento buddies like Sheri and Lia ; their hinamatsuri bentos are AMAZING!!

.

bento123d

.

Tomorrow’s bento contains one of my bento staples, rice with mapo tofu. I absolutely adore mapo tofu; it is one of the earliest dishes that I perfected back in my student days. Cheap, cheerful and tasty, this asian-styled bolognaise is a staple in my kitchen for dinner and bento. You can find my recipe here . It has been tweaked to be especially ‘dry’ = bento friendly. On the smaller layer, I had a chocolate orange jello with blueberries on it, clementine segments and a small roast chicken and pea salad. My fridge is running pretty empty again; looks like it’s time for a replenish! I topped the rice with two girls cut out from cheese and ham, with nori features.

.

bento123f

.

Happy Hinamatsuri girls!!!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2011 9:42 pm

    Bravo! I like the dry mabo tofu too, as it is very bento-friendly. Supercute girls; happy Girl’s Day!

    • March 2, 2011 9:44 pm

      You too Sheri! Dry styled mapo tofu is so wonderful, I can eat it every day 🙂

  2. March 2, 2011 11:09 pm

    Happy Girls’ Day Mils! The girls so adorable. Love your styling for the pictures, looks fabulous! Thanks for mention too 🙂

    • March 7, 2011 8:27 pm

      Lols thanks Lia – I’m trying to be patient with taking pictures….it makes a big difference spending 3 seconds vs. 10 minutes

  3. March 3, 2011 7:45 am

    So sweet!!

  4. karaimame permalink
    March 3, 2011 12:41 pm

    Happy Girls´Day Mils!
    Cute girls! I liked the flowers on their hair ^_^.
    Hmm…the jello in the muffin cup is so neat idea!

    • March 7, 2011 8:28 pm

      The flowers were actually just placed on the rice….then I decided it looked nicer on their hair:)

      Yeah, jello in muffin cup is easy and non-messy ….makes things easier!

Leave a Reply

