Skip to content

Bento 125: Karaage, hinomaru & soy sauce belly pork

March 13, 2011

.

bento125

.

Like most Sunday bentos, tomorrow’s lunch consist of mostly leftovers from the week. I have leftover soy sauce stew of aburaage,belly pork & hard boiled egg (divided with brocolli) with some karaage & apple slices on the other layer. The belly pork & hard boiled egg stew was from Saturday and karaage was dinner for Sunday. This bento took me 15 mins to pack and photograph; making this a great speedy bento to put together.

My soy sauce belly pork is a family favourite, sliced belly pork stewed in a claypot for a few hours in a stock made out of sweet soy sauce, light & dark soy sauce, garlic, cracked white peppercorn and other spices. I had not made this in a long time, and the smell of it simmering all afternoon drove me totally nuts! And you know what happens when you simmer belly pork long enough – the fat eventually emulsifies into the sauce and the whole pot turns into a delicious meat flavour packed zone. I usually try to get a leaner cut of belly pork, but I still trim most of the fat away before. I add boiled eggs & aburaage about 30 mins before serving, just enough to soak up all the flavour-packed sauce.

.

Like most people in the world at the moment, Japan have been on the forefront of my mind in recent days. I automatically reached for an ume to top my rice with and turned it into a hinomaru – paying homage to great country that is coping so magnificently in the face of devastating adversity. Ganbatte!

.

PS: If you are not already, please follow the tireless @makiwi of JustBento for most up to date news from Japan – she have been tirelessly providing the twitterverse with valuable updates straight from the Japanese media. I am in awe of her one-person news stream …

.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2011 8:25 pm

    Beautiful bento! The whole world is stopping and praying for Japan. It’s hard to think of much else, such disaster. I agree, @makiwi is amazing! I trust her news more than the news I see on TV here.

    • March 14, 2011 9:42 pm

      Thanks Heather. Yup – makiwi should totally win some sort of citizen journalism prize or something. I do not even read the news anymore…just wait for her to spoonfeed me…

  2. March 13, 2011 10:13 pm

    @makiwi’s tweets are indeed eye opening and a real glimpse of what’s going on every day in Japan since the earthquake.

    Your bentos are beautiful! Do you prepare them on the day or the day before?

    • March 14, 2011 9:41 pm

      Aww you’re too nice Su-Lin!!! I usually prep them the night before when I am preparing dinner, totally not a morning person at all. I have tried making bentos in the mornings before work before – but this usually leaves me with no time in photographing it.

Leave a Reply

