Skip to content

Bento 89: Breast Cancer Bento

October 7, 2010

.

bento89a

.

October is Breast Cancer Awareness month!! In the twitter-verse, we have geared up in producing #thinkpink or #projectpink bento lunches throughout the month of October. I have yet to see any so far, but it is still very early in the month. I do love themed bentos, and pink as well! Cancer is a subject close to my heart as two of my grandparents had succumbed to cancer :(. I know of numerous other people who are cancer survivors or have succumbed to this disease. Until a cure is found, early detection is key, and so is speedy action upon detection instead of self denial.

Today’s Think Pink bento lunch contains bright red rice (coloured with pureed beetroot – I had some leftover from a disastorous pink pasta test), with a pale pink Breast Cancer Awareness ribbon made of egg sheet. I was doubtful whether it looked like the ribbon, as the bottom bit was too short. But I asked bacon if he recognized what it was and he did, so that was reason enough for me to use it! On the other side, I have some yummy teriyaki chicken, steamed brocolli, some slices of apple and cucumber and more of the pretty purple carrot flowers.

.

bento89c

.

I use Sheri‘s recipe for sweetish shoyu chicken; 1/2c shoyu, 1/4c sugar, 1Tsake, 1/3c water, garlic, ginger. I melt this in a separate saucepan, pour this over panfried seared chicken, and let it simmer and thicken up for 15 minutes. And that’s it. Simple, delicious, yummy and amazing. Goes extremely well with rice and simple steamed veggies.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2010 8:54 pm

    Yay! I love it! I don’t think many people haven’t been touched by cancer, it seems like everyone I know is dealing with it in some way. This is a great tribute to breast cancer awareness!

    • October 8, 2010 11:27 am

      Thanks Heather! We all do what little we can to raise awareness 🙂

  2. October 7, 2010 9:38 pm

    Crazy, I was just thinking last night that I should make a pink ribbon bento (my grandmother is in stage 3 breast cancer). So glad to see this one, it looks awesome! I will have to join you this month 🙂

    • October 8, 2010 11:26 am

      Do it! I would love to see more pink ribbon bentos!

  3. October 7, 2010 10:55 pm

    Wonderful pink ribbon bento mils! My life and loved ones have been touched by breast cancer too, and early detection is so vital.

    Your shoyu chicken looks mouthwatering! Glad you liked the recipe. Should be fantastic with pink rice :9

    • October 8, 2010 11:26 am

      Thanks for the recipe sheri – it was most definately very yummy! It was very nice room-temperature as well

  4. October 8, 2010 8:56 am

    Woohoo! You started already? Awesome pink bento Mils! I’m still looking for some ideas :p Hope can post one too soon (^.^)

    • October 8, 2010 11:24 am

      Thanks Lia! I just got inspired – and had to do something about it immediately!

  5. October 11, 2010 8:53 pm

    Gorgeous pink bento! I love the ribbon detail too. 🙂

  6. October 12, 2010 7:52 am

    Whoa, how did I miss this?! You practically kicked off the event with this lovely tribute to Project Pink!

  7. October 12, 2010 8:11 am

    Lovely ThinkPink bento! It’s *obviously* a ribbon! 🙂

    I’ll see if I can come up with a ProjectPink bento as well — what are the rules?

  8. October 12, 2010 8:27 am

    Oops, found the rules and I’m already too late! 😦

  9. October 12, 2010 11:23 am

    Cute bento! Can you send me the large file at ktycat.bentoblog@gmail.com so that I can include it in the panorama?
    By the way, gnoegnoe you can still make your bento and send it to me until friday, so you’re not too late ;).

  10. October 12, 2010 4:25 pm

    This is just beautiful, I love the ‘pink’ rice! And the ribbon came out wonderful too (obviously we all recognize it!). : ) I’m also a super huge fan of the purple carrot flowers.

  11. October 13, 2010 8:15 pm

    I love this mils! So sorry to hear that you lost grandparents to cancer. I love your comment about not being in denial, especially for those who have cancer in their family. Get tested! Go get a mammogram!

Trackbacks

  1. Bento Octobre Rose – Pink October Bento « Actualités « Bento Blog
  2. Bento Octobre Rose – Pink October Bento | Bento Blog, le bento au quotidien

Leave a comment